Authors Like Brandon Sanderson (8 Fantasy Book Recommendations)

Brandon Sanderson is one of fantasy fiction’s newest, brightest voices. Although his first book came out in 2005, he’s only just exploded into mainstream appeal.

Authors Like Brandon Sanderson (8 Fantasy Book Recommendations)

With movie adaptations on the way and a lot of buzz and energy every time he puts out a new book, the chances are that you’ve heard of Brandon Sanderson.

Perhaps you’ve already made your way through his extensive catalog of novels. If this is the case, then you could be looking for more.

If you loved the work of Brandon Sanderson, then you should check out authors like Robin Hobb, Patrick Rothfuss, Scott Lynch, and Robert Jordan. Each of these authors has written incredible portals into breathtaking fantasy worlds.

Books By Brandon Sanderson

Stormlight Archive MM Boxed Set I, Books 1-3: The Way of Kings, Words of Radiance, Oathbringer (The Stormlight Archive)

Brandon Sanderson’s first book was published on April 21st, 2005. This standalone novel, Elantris, was released to positive reviews, but it was only the beginning of what has become his career.

It was his second publication, Mistborn, and the next two entries into the Mistborn Trilogy, that began to skyrocket Sanderson towards worldwide critical acclaim.

Since then, Brandon Sanderson has continued to develop his ‘Cosmere’ concept, which is the shared Universe that almost all of his fantasy novels exist within.

New readers might not realize that all the Cosmere novels are linked, but the more they read, the more they begin to see links, as well as an overarching story that is being told in the background of each of his novels.

Books By Brandon Sanderson

Sanderson’s largest and most critically acclaimed series is the ongoing Stormlight Archive. This is a long epic fantasy series with 10 planned entries, with 4 being published as of 2020.

Fans of Sanderson adore this series for its wide cast of interesting, complex characters, its rich high fantasy world, and its tight plotting which keeps them wrapped up until the final page.

Authors Like Brandon Sanderson

Robin Hobb

Assassin's Apprentice (The Farseer Trilogy, Book 1)

Robin Hobb is best known for her Realm of The Elderlings series, composed of 17 books that outline a gigantic story.

The Realm of the Elderlings might seem like a lot to get through, but most people just start with the Farseer Trilogy and go from there.

Expect a slightly darker world than those that Brandon Sanderson creates, with dense prose and some incredible characters that you’ll get very close to throughout the series.

Pros

  • Incredible worldbuilding that feels real and layered.
  • Believable characters and some of the most notorious villains in all fantasy fiction.

Cons

Themes: fantasy fiction, magic, mystery, identity, survival.

Patrick Rothfuss

The Name of the Wind

Patrick Rothfuss is known for the first two entries of his Kingkiller Chronicles series. Name of The Wind follows the story of Kvothe, a legendary hero figure who has (for some unknown reason) fallen on hard times.

The first novel follows his story from childhood up to the age of around 15, with The Wise Man’s Fear following from where the first book ended.

Fans love Patrick Rothfuss for his lyrical prose, quirky characters, incredible world, and depictions of magic and economic hardship.

Although Rothfuss and Sanderson differ in a lot of their stylistic choices, they are both masters at creating worlds for their readers to fall into.

Pros

  • Gorgeous prose that will astound you if you pay close enough attention to it.
  • A bright, incredible world filled with realistic characters.

Cons

  • The Third novel in the trilogy is currently not released, and fans have been waiting for a long time.

Themes: epic fantasy series, sorrow, survival.

Scott Lynch

The Lies of Locke Lamora: Gentleman Bastard, Book 1

Scott Lynch is another cutting-edge name in epic fantasy fiction. His series The Gentlemen Bastards has three entries that have captivated readers.

The first novel in the series—The Lies of Locke Lamora—is a great book to choose from after reading the work of Brandon Sanderson, due to its witty dialogue, tight plot, and impressive world-building.

If you enjoyed the thief and heist aspects of Mistborn, then you’re going to love the work of Scott Lynch. The one downside of picking up his series is that the 4th entry—The Thorne of Emberlain—has not yet been released.

Pros

  • Witty and fun characters
  • A fantasy city based on Venice.

Cons

  • There’s a possible long wait for the 4th book in the series.

Themes: fantasy fiction, greed, mafia, mysterious alien creatures

Robert Jordan

Wheel of Time Premium Boxed Set I: Books 1-3 (The Eye of the World, The Great Hunt, The Dragon Reborn)

When fantasy fiction titan Robert Jordan died in 2007, he left behind an unfinished series. The Wheel of Time is one of the longest epic fantasy stories ever told and was eventually finished by the man himself—Brandon Sanderson.

So then, it’s clear to see that the Wheel of Time was a huge influence on his work. If you love the Stormlight Archive, then the chances are that you will also love the Wheel of Time.

We’d recommend checking it out if you want to learn more about the influences of Sanderson.

Pros

  • Huge world that has been crafted over a lifetime.
  • A finished series with complete character arcs.

Cons

  • Could feel like familiar territory if you’ve ever read Tolkien.

Themes: fantasy fiction, mythical creatures, duality, good and evil

Final Thoughts

So that was our list of authors similar to Brandon Sanderson. Although you’ll be able to find a lot of similarities between them, each author we listed should give you a unique voice that is different from anything you’ve read before.

We hope that our list has given you some ideas for new authors to pick up, and we wish you the best of luck on your reading journey!

Frequently Asked Questions

When Is The Next Name Of The Wind Book Coming Out?

At the moment, there is no release date for the third book in the Kingkiller Chronicle. Fans expect it to be released sometime over the next few years, though there’s a chance it could be much longer.

Why Did Brandon Sanderson Finish The Wheel Of Time?

Sanderson was a lifetime fan of The Wheel of Time, and after the passing of Robert Jordan, he was approached to see if he wanted to finish the series.

YouTube video
Noah Burton