Hidden Desires: The 20 Best Romance Authors Like Meghan Quinn

Fans of Meghan Quinn are familiar with her addictive writing style, lovable characters, and alluring plotlines which keep you hooked from start to finish, but if you’ve already read all of the popular author’s novels then who should you turn to next? 

Hidden Desires: The 20 Best Romance Authors Like Meghan Quinn

Whether you’re looking for more sports romance, heartbreaking angst with happily ever afters, lighthearted romantic comedies, or steamy, erotic, passion-filled fake relationships turned real love stories between billionaires and their employees, this article has something for everyone, so keep reading to find out whose contemporary romance novels you should be reading next!

About Meghan Quinn

After publishing her first book back in 2013, Meghan Quinn is now a #1 Amazon and USA Today Bestselling Author who is known for writing romantic comedies and contemporary romance. The once primarily self-published author is now a hybrid writer signed to amazon publisher, ‘Montlake’. She releases two books a year with them along with five Indie releases, on average.

Meghan, who has proven to be an incredibly diverse author, predominantly writes billionaire romance and sports romance, but she has also been known to dabble in the royal, small-town, military, and inspirational romance genres. Like many other contemporary romances, her novels are known for their steam, intensity, and the quintessential pairing of alpha male heroes and sassy heroines.

Having written more than 75 books and 16 series’, Meghan has received a combined total of 1,769,350 reviews on Goodreads across all titles. One of her most popular series, the ‘Cane Brothers’ series, contains one of her most well-received novels, ‘A Not So Meet Cute’, which is a modern-day take on the popular 90s movie, ‘Pretty Woman’. 

Outside of being a Bestselling Author, Meghan is also a wife, adoptive mother, and peanut butter lover who enjoys the nice weather and trails in Colorado Springs, where she currently resides.

The 20 Best Romance Authors Like Meghan Quinn

Melanie Harlow

Irresistible: Cloverleigh Farms Book 1 (Cloverleigh Farms Series)

Another USA Today Bestselling Author, Melanie Harlow is known for writing sweet, sexy, feel-good contemporary romance novels within the New Adult genre. She is a self-published author who published her first novel back in 2013 and now has more than 45 titles to her name. She has amassed a large audience of eager readers with one of her most popular series being the ‘Cloverleigh Farms’ series which features single dad, small town, and friends-to-lovers tropes. You can find the first book of the series here.

Kendall Ryan

Filthy Beautiful Lies

An author whose books have been featured in the New York Times, USA Today, and Wall Street Journal bestsellers lists a combined total of more than 100 times, needless to say, Kendall Ryan is a big name in the contemporary romance genre. Known for her NA romance and romantic comedies, her books have been described as “beautiful, electrifying love stories that can make even the most pessimistic person believe in happily ever afters.” She has written over two dozen novels and sold millions of copies, one of her most popular novels being, ‘Filthy Beautiful Lies’. You can get this Steamy Romance novel here.

Lauren Blakely

A Guy Walks into My Bar

Lauren Blakely–who has published over 150 books–is known for her sweet, sexy, and witty contemporary romance style. The #1 Audible Bestselling author is also known for publishing LGBTQ+ romance that features “charming, out heroes with hearts of gold whose relationship arcs are not dependent on their orientation.” Her first gay romance was the ever-popular, ‘A Guy Walks Into My Bar’ (check out our favorite gay romance books here). You can find this utterly addictive Standalone Romance novel here.

Lucy Score

Pretend You're Mine (Benevolence, 1)

This #1 Amazon Bestselling Author grew up in a book-obsessed household, earned a degree in journalism, and began her full-time writing career in 2015 after the release of ‘Pretend You’re Mine’ which is book #1 of her majorly popular ‘Benevolence’ series. You can find this Small-Town Romance novel here.

Pippa Grant

The Last Eligible Billionaire

Pippa Grant is a stay-at-home mom, a housewife, and a #1 USA Today slash Amazon bestselling Author whose escape is writing sexy yet hilarious stories with charming, quirky, and lovable characters. Sweet and lighthearted novels, healthy love stories, pantry-dropping love scenes, badass heroines, hockey players, billionaires–Pippa has written it all, which means that she has likely written a contemporary romance that you will be able to fall in love with! Currently, one of her most popular books is, ‘The Last Eligible Billionaire’, a novel with an emotionally unavailable hero and the ‘fake love of his life’ heroine. You can get this Swoony Romance novel here.

Penny Reid

Neanderthal Seeks Human: A Smart Romance (Knitting in the City)

A previous biomedical researcher and current obsessive knitter, Penny Reid has written over 40 books within the contemporary romance genre . If you’re a fan of sports romance, friends to lovers, enemies to lovers, slow burns, or forced proximity, then you’ll be a fan of her novels! Two of her most popular series include, ‘Winston Brothers’, which follows the six bearded biker brothers and their beau’s small-town mischief, and ‘Knitting in the City’, which follows seven friends in Chicago–who all happen to be members of the same knitting group–as they go through steamy love affairs. You can find book #1 of the ‘Knitting in the City’ series here. You can find book #1 of the ‘Winston Brothers’ series here.

Mariana Zapata

The Wall of Winnipeg and Me: A Novel

This five-time Goodreads Choice Awards nominee has had her novels published in thirteen languages–they’re just that good! She’s been writing romance since she was old enough to spell and has taken a liking to writing slow burns, angst, and working-class heroines who fall in love with possessive heroes. One of her most popular stories, ‘The Wall of Winnipeg and Me’, is no different. In this steamy romance, the football player asks the personal assistant slash housekeeper to marry him just as she’s about to quit. What will she decide? You can get this Grumpy/Sunshine Romance novel here.

Christina Lauren

Beautiful Bastard (1) (The Beautiful Series)

Christina Lauren is actually the combined pen name of a duo of long-time writing partners–you guessed it–Christina and Lauren, who have taken both the Young Adult and Adult Romance genres by storm. Published in over 30 languages, the duo has achieved a plethora of accolades. From being inducted into the Library Reads Hall of Fame to being featured in Forbes, The Washington Post, Entertainment Weekly, and more, the authors of eighteen New York Times bestselling novels have surely cemented their legacy in the contemporary romance field. Book #1 of their ever-popular ‘Beautiful ’ series is an office romance between the boss and the assistant, of course! You can find the Erotic Romance novel here.

Max Monroe

Tapping the Billionaire (Billionaire Bad Boys)

Another duo, long-time friends and writing partners Max and Monroe are the New York Times and USA Today Bestselling Authors of more than thirty contemporary romance titles. With more than forty titles to their pseud, the two friends have dabbled in writing suspenseful books with plenty of angst and emotion, but they mostly prefer to stick to writing romantic comedies that will make readers laugh their butts off. The first book of the ‘Billionaire Bad Boys’ series, ‘Tapping the Billionaire’, will do just that! You can get the Forbidden Romance novel here.

Tijan Meyer

Carter Reed

A frequent occupant of the New York Times Ebook Bestseller list, Tijan Meyer is notorious for writing New Adult romances with intense characters and suspenseful storylines. If you enjoy a mix of contemporary romance thrillers and pure erotica, her novels would be perfect for you! Her most popular series are the ‘Broken and Screwed’ series, the ‘Fallen Crest’ series, and the ‘Carter Reed’series, which starts with book #1 of the same title. You can get the Dark Mafia Romance novel here.

Meagan Brandy

Boys of Brayshaw High

Meagan Brandy is a Bestselling Author of New Adult and Sports Romance books who has written more than 15 novels since she got her start back in 2017. She likes to write New Adult romances with a twist and has captivated her readers with her ‘Brayshaw’ series, which begins with ‘Boys of Brayshaw High’, an unputdownable enemies-to-lovers romance revolving around morally corrupt teenagers. You can find the Sports Romance novel here.

Avery Flynn

Butterface (Hartigans)

Smartass alpha heroes and feisty, fierce heroines who have just as much heart as they have brains. If these are the kind of characteristics that you look for in characters from your favorite novels, then you will adore Avery Flynn’s books! The widely successful author is prone to writing humorous romance with enough steam to fog up your windows. Sports, mystery, mobsters, fake relationships–you can find it all in Avery’s novels, but one of her most popular books, ‘Butterface’, is a great place to start! A girl with mob-connected brothers enters a fake relationship with a cop. To see how it all turns out, you can find ‘Butterface’ here.

Ana Huang

Twisted Love (Twisted, 1)

Whether you’re a fan of lighthearted fluff or dark angst, Ana Haung’s novels will deliver. The #1 Globe and Mail Bestseller loves incorporating beautiful destinations into her stories, along with plenty of swoon-worthy moments that will keep you on the edge of your seat. Book #1 of her beloved ‘Twisted’ series follows a morally gray ‘devil’ gifted with an angel’s face in his pursuit of vengeance and newfound feelings for his best friend’s little sister. You can get the Opposites Attract Romance novel here.

Ilsa Madden-Mills

Princess and the Player (Strangers in Love)

Best known for her angsty New Adult romances and Romantic Comedies, fourteen of Ilsa’s eighteen novels have placed in the Amazon Top 10 Best-seller List. If you’re a fan of close proximity, accidental pregnancy, one-night-stand, or football romance tropes, you’ll love her most popular novel, ‘Princess and the Player’, where a masquerade ball brings an NFL player and a penniless princess together for a night of passion and then a lifetime of shared responsibility. You can get the Sweetly Emotional Romance novel here.

Helena Hunting

Pucked

Another incredible author popular for her sports comedy and anxious New Adult novels, Helena Hunting has stolen her readers’ hearts with books like ‘PUCKED’, a brother’s best friend story that sees the protagonist falling for the surprisingly intellectual hockey team captain. You can find the NHL Romance novel here.

Sylvie Stewart

The Fix (Carolina Connections)

Gifted with the talent of writing characters that feel like your best friends and steamy rom-coms that will have you gasping for breath, Sylvie Stewart has made a career out of writing home-town romance that takes place in North Carolina. Hilarious banter, undeniable chemistry, and a hot, new boss turned personal handyman can all be found in book #1 of her ‘Carolina Connections’ series. You can get the sweet, Single Mom Romance novel here.

Penelope Ward

Stepbrother Dearest

Previously a news anchor, Penelope Ward is now an Audie Award Winner with several books that have been featured in Entertainment Weekly and that can now be found in bookstores all around the world. She has written over thirty books, but one of the most popular is her 2014 novel, ‘Stepbrother Dearest’. The standalone erotic novel will send you on an emotional rollercoaster, so get ready for a ride! You can get the Step-sibling Romance novel here.

Kayley Loring

A Very Bossy Christmas (Very Holiday)

After a fifteen-year career as a screenwriter in Los Angeles, Kayley decided to move to the Pacific Northwest and write all the dirty words that she couldn’t write in PG-13 scripts! One of her best contemporary romances? ‘A Very Bossy Christmas’, which happens to be book #1 of her ‘Very Holiday’ series. If you’re interested in grumpy bosses, fake dating, and angry, drunken sex then you can find the Holiday Romance novel here.

Claire Kingsley

Faking Ms. Right: A Hot Romantic Comedy (Dirty Martini Running Club)

If you’re a fan of heartfelt romance and happily ever afters, Claire Kingsley’s novels will be the perfect fit for you. With sassy heroines and swoony heroes, you won’t be able to get enough of her romantic comedies! A fan favorite, ‘Faking Ms. Right’, follows a billionaire and his assistant as their faux relationship transforms into something more. You can find the Billionaire Romance here.

Corinne Michaels

Beloved (The Salvation Series)

Corinne’s books are filled with a brilliant mix of unrelenting love and intense heartbreak as her characters find a way to heal themselves and each other through their struggles. A former navy wife, Corinne began her writing career while her husband was deployed and has been creating highly emotional contemporary romance books ever since. The first book in her ‘Salvation’ series, ‘Beloved’, is a heartwarming friends-to-lovers novel with the happily ever after that you’ll be rooting for while reading it! But how do the characters get there? You can find the Military Romance here.

Final Thoughts

If you’re a major fan of contemporary romance–whether you love a good YA slow-burn, an action-packed NA story filled to the brim with intensity, or a sweet and clean second chance romance set in a small town–hopefully, this list will assist in helping you find your next obsession!

FAQs

Is Meghan Quinn self-published?

Meghan Quinn started out as solely a self-published author but now publishes both traditionally and independently.

Is kiss and don’t tell by Meghan Quinn a series?

Kiss and Don’t Tell is the first book in Meghan’s Hockey Romance series, ‘The Vancouver Agitators’.

Where to read Melanie Harlow?

Melanie Harlow’s books can be found online on Amazon Kindle, in your local library and bookstore, or in Barnes and Nobles stores.

What order should I read Lauren Blakely’s books in?

Lauren Blakely’s books can be read in any order and can all be enjoyed as standalones, however, you can also read them as part of her series.

YouTube video
Tia Trammell