20 Authors Similar To Colleen Hoover (With 119 Book Recommendations)

If you have taken it upon yourself to finish each and every one of Colleen Hoover’s delightful books then you are likely in the market for a book to fill the void.

In particular, you are probably on the lookout for books that are just like Colleen Hoover. Books that will tug on your heartstrings like no other.

20 Authors Similar To Colleen Hoover (With 119 Book Recommendations)

Well, we have found a series of amazing authors that have written such books. The characters and stories that these authors spin are just amazing, and the writing is certainly on par with Colleen Hoover.

You can trust us when we say that these books will certainly brighten your day and make you feel strongly for the characters.

Are you excited to check out these wonderful writers? Well, then, let us dive right in and get started! There is a lot to cover!

What Makes Colleen Hoover Such A Good Author?

What makes Colleen Hoover as good as she is? Why is she so beloved for her stories, characters, and ability to evoke emotion?

Before we look at some of the other authors that rival Colleen Hoover we need to take a look at what makes Colleen so good. 

So, without further ado, let us dive right in and get started.

Her Stories Evoke Strong Emotions

Romance books are supposed to evoke feelings in you. They are supposed to make you feel good and experience something so pure and beautiful, or hot and heavy.

The stories that Colleen Hoover writes are the perfect culmination of these things. Sweet moments, heartfelt moments, steamy moments, moments that are frustrating, and moments that just encompass the entire story. 

The epic and beautiful stories that Colleen writes are seemingly effortless and perfectly pull you from emotion to emotion while you cling fast for the ride.

The dramatics, romance, love, heartache, and steaminess are all reasons why this author is so beloved by people everywhere. 

Her Characters Are Fun, Interesting & Relatable

A book is no good if the characters are not interesting and well-fleshed out. The way that Colleen spins her characters has you wanting to dive right into the book and soothe their aching heart.

The characters that Colleen creates are amazing. She has you thinking about them way after the story has ended.

Her Stories Take Romance Seriously

Her Stories Take Romance Seriously

Comedy romances are great and always good for those of us that need something light-hearted to read. But at times it is serious romance stories that the heart needs.

The books that Colleen writes are centered around contemporary romance.

These stories contain young adult romance, paranormal romance, and thrills. With each of the stories, she weaves a wonderfully different concept. So each of her books are different but still amazing to read.

The topics she covers can be quite dark and heavy. For example, some of the things that she includes in her stories are as follows: homelessness, family troubles, domestic violence, abuse, poverty, and more.

Colleen Hoover is not one to back away from a topic despite its difficulties. The way she weaves such important topics into her stories is quite beautiful and graceful. You will be awestruck once you finish her first book.

Her Story Writing Skills Are Impeccable

You cannot be an author as good as Colleen Hoover unless you have the writing talent. Her success is largely because she is just an amazing writer. The skill she has with weaving words into gorgeous stories is second to none.

Many authors are self-published and Colleen Hoover is one of them. Her skill for writing and more is why she has become so much more successful.

It is not as easy as you think to create drama, love, steaminess, and have a fantastic set of characters all with a good cast. 

Her Stories Make You Want To Read All Her Books

It is not often that you find an author that has a whole series of books that you can easily devour. Each of the works that Colleen writes is worth reading.

After you finish just one, you will be gagging to find another of her genius little stories.

What Books Has Colleen Hoover Written?

Ugly Love: A Novel

If you have not read all of Colleen Hoover’s books then you absolutely need to. Below we have listed all the works we know of so that you can see if you have missed a few of this phenomenal author’s books:

If you would like to purchase or access any of these books, you should be able to find them by following the embedded link that we have included in the list above.

Are There Other Authors Like Colleen Hoover? 

If you have finished each and every one of Colleen Hoover’s books, then you probably need to know what other authors write similar stories.

Below we have listed all the authors we could find that have works similar to Colleen Hoover.

  • Brittainy C. Cherry
  • Amy Harmon
  • Emma Scott
  • B.B. Easton
  • Christina Lauren
  • Roni Loren
  • J.T. Geissinger
  • Kate Stewart
  • Kennedy Ryan
  • L. J. Shen
  • Julia Whelan
  • Jay McLean
  • Ilsa Madden-Mills
  • Mia Sheridan
  • Danielle Lori
  • Jojo Moyes
  • Tia Williams
  • Jewel E. Ann
  • Samantha Young
  • Ella Maise

If you want to learn more about these authors and the books they write, make sure to read on. We have a wonderful and detailed recollection of everything you need to know and more on the topic.

Authors With Similar Books To Colleen Hoover

Now that you know the authors we are going to talk about in this article, let us finally take a closer look at their work.

Brittainy C. Cherry

The Mixtape

Brittainy C. Cherry writes many beautifully written books. The Air He Breathes in particular is very similar to Colleen Hoover’s stunning romance stories. Brittainy is skilled in writing wonderful masterpieces which is why she is such a beloved author.

Excerpt from The Air he Breathes: 

“I was warned about Tristan Cole, told that he was cruel, cold, damaged.

It’s easy to judge a man because of his past. To look at Tristan and see a monster.

But I couldn’t do that. I had to accept the wreckage that lived inside of him because it also lived inside of me.

We were both empty. We were both looking for something else. Something more.”

The books by this author are fantastic, the emotions their writing evokes are just amazing (see also “Authors Like Liz Carlyle“). Your heart will bleed when you read about the brave and strong characters who go through so much loss and pain.

But what makes the books by this author truly special is the happily-ever-after that makes all the headache worthwhile. 

If you want to read more books by Brittainy C. Cherry then make sure to check out some of their other works. Below we have listed some of their books for you to peruse at your leisure:

Pros

  • Tons of Books
  • Well Written
  • Interesting Characters
  • Interesting Plot

Cons

  • Some Heavy Themes

Themes: Loneliness, Love, Hope, Misjudgment, Death, Pain, Loss

Amy Harmon

Running Barefoot

Amy Harmon is a talented writer with many fantastic books under her belt. A Different Blue in particular is a wonderful book which just embodies the look and feel of Colleen Hoover’s books.

All of her books are stunning which is why you are bound to adore each one of them.

Excerpt from A Different Blue: 

Blue Echohawk doesn’t know who she is. She doesn’t know her real name since she was abandoned at two and raised by a drifter.

At nineteen, she is just a senior in high school and the complete opposite of the young British teacher who decides he is up for the challenge and takes the troublemaker under his wing.”

The books by this author are magnificent. The way she tells the stories is so thoughtful. She is much like Colleen and covers a wide range of topics and genres. But her romances are what makes her truly special.

If you want to read more books by Amy Harmon then make sure to check out some of their other works. Below we have listed some of their books for you to try:

Pros

  • Wonderful Use of Language
  • Variety of Books
  • Fun Characters
  • Evokes Strong Emotion

Cons

  • Can be Very Sappy

Themes: Friendship, Redemption, Healing, Love, Discovery, Heartfelt

Emma Scott

The Butterfly Project

If you are looking for an author that can write books just as good as Colleen Hoover then you need to check out Emma Scott’s work.

A book called Between Hello and Goodbye is a particularly amazing masterpiece. It is sweet, romantic, and absolutely delightful. 

Excerpt from Between Hello and Goodbye: 

“Faith Benson’s carefree lifestyle is jeopardizing her job at a top Seattle ad agency, so her boss demands she takes a leave of absence to get her head on straight.

Faith heads to the remote Hawaiian island of Kauai, far away from the vices that get her in trouble.”

This author does not hold anything back in her writing. So when you read her books you must understand that your heart will bleed as the characters go through trials and tribulations.

The emotional complexity makes this story so moving and thoughtful. 

If you want to read more books by Emma Scott, then make sure to check out some of their other works. Below we have listed some of her books for you to take a look at:

Pros

  • Profound Storytelling
  • Character Strength
  • Variety of Books

Cons

  • Can Be Steamy

Themes: Love, Loss, Slice of Life, Tragedy, Grief

B.B. Easton

Devil of Dublin

If you need a great book that is similar to Colleen Hoover’s work, you really need to consider reading B.B. Easton’s work. The stories by this author are lovely, romantic, and well-written.

Each and every one of her books are phenomenal.

Excerpt from Skin:

“At age 15, BB was planning her wedding to the punk hero of Peach State High, Lance Hightower.

Trying desperately to gain his attention by not eating and shaving her head, she instead ends up the object of Ronald “Knight” McKnight’s attention.”

A word comes to mind when you read books by B.B. Easton. Epic. The stories they tell are filled with delightful fairy tale romance.

On top of the perfect romance, the struggles the characters go through just add to how amazing this story really is.

If you want to read more books by B.B. Easton then make sure to check out some of their other works. Below we have listed some of their books for you to get lost in:

Pros

  • Poignant Romance
  • Amazing Characters
  • Funny
  • Swoon Worthy

Cons

  • Can Be Overly Dramatic

Themes: Love, Healing, Trauma, Loss, Grief

Christina Lauren

Sweet Filthy Boy (Wild Seasons)

Christina Lauren writes amazing books. One of her best works is a book called Love and Other Words. This book in particular is very similar to Colleen Hoover’s most famous work.

Excerpt from Love and Other Words: 

“Macy Sorensen’s life is upended when she runs into Elliot Petropoulos—the first and only love of her life.

He was the boy she bonded over books with and who restored her heart after the loss of her mother only to go on and break it.”

This author is easily one of the best out there. The young characters are a delight and the way that they interact and fall for each other really makes them interesting and sweet to read about.

If you want to read more books by Christina Lauren then make sure to check out some of their other works. Below we have listed some of their books for you to unwind with:

Pros

  • Engrossing Story
  • Plenty of Book Variety
  • Heartwarming

Cons

  • Some Characters Are Underdeveloped

Themes: Childhood Sweethearts, Love, Marriage

Roni Loren

Nothing Between Us (Loving on the Edge Series Book 7)

Roni Loren’s book called ‘What if You & Me’ is very similar to the masterpieces created by Colleen Hoover. The books by this author are really quite interesting and enthralling. You are bound to fall in love with them.

Excerpt from What if You & Me: 

“Andi Lockley knows first-hand that the world can be a scary place after narrowly escaping a dangerous man years ago.

Her anxiety doesn’t let her forget it, but she’s channeling her fears into her next novel and her true-crime podcast.”

All the books written by Roni are amazing. They are interesting, and the characters have such strength. The way that they work to grow and strive is really quite inspiring to read about.

You will not be able to put down any of their books once you get started!

If you want to read more books by Roni Loren then make sure to check out some of their other works. Below we have listed some of their best works:

Pros

  • Funny
  • Variety of Books
  • Great Characters
  • Sweet Story

Cons

  • Steamy Tension

Themes: Anxiety, Trauma, Tension, Love

J.T. Geissinger

No products found.

If you are looking for an author that writes beautiful stories that echo the work of Colleen Hoover then you need to check out J.T. Geissinger.

In particular, her book called Perfect Stranger is very similar to Colleen Hoover’s style.

Excerpt from Perfect Strangers:

“What she finds instead is James, an enigmatic stranger who ignites in her an unexpected and all-consuming passion.

Agreeing to tell each other nothing more than their first names, Olivia and James embark on a torrid affair.”

The way that this author spins a romance story is quite phenomenal. The range that her books have is really quite exciting. Each of the stories is unique, fun, beautiful, and full of romance. You will love every book written by her.

If you want to read more books by J.T. Geissinger then make sure to check out some of their other works. Below we have listed some of their books for you:

Pros

  • Clever Writing
  • Variety of Books Available
  • Well Rounded Characters

Cons

  • Can Have Steamy Content

Themes: Tragedy, Connections, Love, Healing,

Kate Stewart

The Finish Line: The Evolution of a King (The Ravenhood Book 3)

You can’t find an author that writes books more similar to Colleen Hoover than Kate Stewart (see also “Authors Like Kate Pearce“). Her books are sweet, romantic, and absolutely enthralling.

You won’t be able to put them down. In particular, a book called The Real is brilliant.

Excerpt from The Real: 

“They say it happens when you least expect it. It did for me.

It started the moment I saw the simple message pop up on my computer screen, Hi.

And when I met the eyes of the gorgeous man messaging me from across the coffee shop, I never thought my reply would lead to the most intense and passionate relationship of my life.”

The way that this author brings light and life into important issues is fantastic (see also “Authors Like Susan Elizabeth Phillips“). The angle that this story is written from is what makes this author’s book stand out in the romance crowd.

The complexity and beauty of the romance makes you feel. Your heartstrings are bound to be tugged when you read these amazing books. 

If you want to read more books by Kate Stewart then make sure to check out some of their other works. Below we have listed some of their books for you to peruse:

Pros

  • Beautiful Relationships
  • Well Written
  • Great Characters

Cons

  • Some Readers Thought the Story Was Boring

Themes: Love, Connections, Tragedy, Heartbreak

Kennedy Ryan

No products found.

You are bound to adore Kennedy Ryan’s books if you are a fan of Colleen Hoover’s work. One particular book called Hook Shot is well known for being a wonderful romance story. But all of her work is well recieved.

Excerpt from Hook Shot: 

“Divorced. Single dad. Traded to a losing squad. Cheated on, betrayed, exposed.

My perfect life has ended and I’m still picking up the pieces. The last thing I need is a woman I can’t resist.”

If you are looking for an author that hits you right in the feels then you need to check out the books by Kennedy Ryan.

The way that she does not shy away from topics but does not put needless drama in the story really makes it a wonderfully balanced story. You will certainly never forget the stories that she tells. 

If you want to read more books by Kennedy Ryan then make sure to check out some of their other works below:

Pros

  • Well written
  • Sweet Characters
  • Interesting Story
  • Deeply Emotional

Cons

  • Can be a Little Dramatic

Themes: Emotional, Betrayal, Love, Drama

L.J. Shen

Sparrow: A Decadent Mafia Romance

If you need a new book and love the work of Colleen Hoover then you may want to consider reading some of L. J. Shen’s work. In particular, you might enjoy a book called Playing with Fire.

Excerpt from Playing with Fire: 

“West St. Claire is a god on campus – he’s broody, he’s aloof, and he only does one-night stands. Until he meets Casey.

Casey is a fellow student at Sheridan U who survives by trying to blend into the background and stay unseen. Until she meets West.”

The characters in this story are what make it so interesting. Once you are introduced you will be hooked. Hanging on every word and hoping that they find true love despite the trials they are going through.

If you want to read more books by L. J. Shen then make sure to check out some of their other works. Below we have listed some of their books for you to peruse at your leisure:

Pros

  • Emotional Love Story
  • Colorful Cast
  • Great Characters

Cons

  • Can be a Bit Dramatic

Themes: Love, Tragedy, Relationships

Julia Whelan

My Oxford Year: A Novel

Julia Whelan has written a whole host of novels, but one book, in particular, stands out as similar to the work of Colleen Hoover.

Thank You for Listening is an amazing book that certainly embodies the writing style that Colleen Hoover encapsulates.

Excerpt from Thank You for Listening: 

“For Sewanee Chester, being an audiobook narrator is a long way from her days of being a film star.

When she arrives in Las Vegas last minute for a book convention, Sewanee unexpectedly spends a whirlwind night with a charming stranger. “

If you want to read about characters that are not your usual type, but are not treated differently from everyone else, then this is the book for you.

The romance in this story is quite heart-warming. You will certainly not be disappointed in the way that the story is told and how it unfolds. 

If you want to read more books by Julia Whelan then make sure to check out some of their other works. Below we have a few recommendations for you:

Pros

  • Cute Story
  • Interesting Characters
  • Well Written

Cons

  • The Couple Can be Distastefully Written

Themes: Tragedy, Self-Discovery, Love, Dreams, Heartbreak

Jay McLean

More than Him: More Than Series #3

If you need a great book that gives you Colleen Hoover vibes then you need to read a few books by Jay McLean. In particular, you may find that Logan is a fantastic option.

Excerpt from Logan: 

“Logan is a high school dropout who outraces his demons with the help of Mary. She’s the only thing that can help until he meets Aubrey.”

If you want to read a story that captivates you after the first chapter then you are going to adore this adult romance. The themes make it quite interesting to read.

The trauma, lightheartedness, and sweetness that you uncover are amazing.

If you want to read more books by Jay McLean then make sure to check out some of their other works found below:

Pros

  • Emotional
  • Variety of Books
  • Fun Characters
  • Good Dialogue

Cons

  • Not a Mature Romance

Themes: Teen, Romance, Substance abuse

Ilsa Madden-Mills

Not My Match: The Game Changers, Book 2

Dear Ava is one of Ilsa Madden-Mills’ most similar books to Colleen Hoover’s work. But all of her books are amazing. You will certainly love all of her novels.

Excerpt from Dear Ava: 

“Ava is back at Camden Prep for her senior year as the outcast. The popular Sharks may rule the school, but one destroyed her and now another is leaving secret love notes in her locker.”

If you want to read a perfectly crafted young adult romance that packs an almighty punch, then you have come to the right place.

The deep emotion and feelings of these characters make the whole story come to life. You will not be able to put your book down!

If you want to read more books by Ilsa Madden-Mills then make sure to check out some of their other works. Below we have listed some of their books for you to have a look into:

Pros

  • Best Seller
  • Rich Storytelling
  • Loads of Books by the Author

Cons

  • Recommended for 18+

Themes: Love, Drama

Mia Sheridan

Archer's Voice

You really can’t find a much more amazing author than Mia Sheridan. Her books are fun, interesting, and beautifully written. In particular, you may find that her book called Archer’s Voice is very much like Colleen Hoover’s style.

Excerpt from Archer’s Voice: 

“I wanted to lose myself in the small town of Pelion, Maine. To forget everything I had left behind.

I’m almost safe again. But the moment I meet Archer Hale, my entire world tilts on its axis, and never rights itself again.”

If you want to enjoy a fun family drama laced with romance then this author’s work is going to be perfect for you.

After just one page you will be consumed by the characters, their plight, and the fascinating tale that Mia Sheridan has woven for you to enjoy.

If you want to read more books by Mia Sheridan then make sure to check out some of their other works below:

Pros

  • Well Rounded Characters
  • Exciting Story
  • Passionate Romance

Cons

  • The background of Archer is not the Best

Themes: Weapons, Violence, Love, Romance, Tragedy

Danielle Lori

The Sweetest Oblivion (Made)

All of the books by Danielle Lori are phenomenal but in particular, a book called The Maddest Obsession is very similar to Colleen Hoover’s work.

You will certainly love each and every one of her books but you should start with this one especially if you love Colleen Hoover. 

Excerpt from The Maddest Obsession: 

“Her dresses are too tight, her heels too tall. She laughs too loudly. Little do most know it’s just a sparkly disguise, there to hide one panic attack at a time. Nobody can crack Gianna’s facade until he comes along.

Christian Allister may be a special agent upholding the law, but in the New York underworld, he’s a hustler who can make anyone disappear.”

If you need a romance that brings two broken souls together and gives each other meaning then the books by Danielle Lori are going to be just what you need. On top of all that, the author is a phenomenal writer.

So you can enjoy her works knowing that each of her books will be a glorious and romantic tale that you will grow to love.

If you want to read more books by Danielle Lori then make sure to check out some of their other works. Below we have listed some of their books for you to peruse at your leisure:

Pros

  • Deep Characters
  • Slow Burn Romance
  • Well Written

Cons

  • Can be a Bit Repetitive

Themes: Sensuality, Love, Relationships, Mental Health

Jojo Moyes

Me Before You (Me Before You Trilogy)

Each and every one of Jojo Moyes’ books are masterpieces. The books are thoughtful, interesting, and certainly indicative of Colleen Hoover’s work. In particular, Jojo’s book called Me Before You was beautifully done.

Excerpt from Me Before You:

“She takes a badly needed job working for ex–Master of the Universe Will Traynor, who is wheelchair-bound after an accident.

Will has always lived a huge life—big deals, extreme sports, worldwide travel—and now he’s pretty sure he cannot live the way he is.

You are going to cry when you read this book. The story is beautifully spun and the tragic events surrounding the characters are certainly going to bring on strong emotions.

Your heart will ache for the characters and their plight. So, make sure to check out Me Before You if you’re looking for your next romantic novel to get stuck into.

If you want to read more books by Jojo Moyes then make sure to check out some of their other works found below:

Pros

  • Emotional Storytelling
  • Interesting Characters
  • Variety of Books by this Author

Cons

  • Can Have Sensual Content

Themes: Injury, Love, Sensual

Tia Williams

It Chicks

If you enjoy Colleen Hoover’s work then you will certainly love the work of Tia Williams.

In particular, her book called Seven Days in June is quite similar to Colleen Hoover’s work. You will certainly love each and every one of her books.

Excerpt from Seven Days in June: 

“Brooklynite Eva Mercy is a single mom and bestselling writer, who is feeling pressed from all sides.

Shane Hall is a reclusive, enigmatic, award-winning literary author who, to everyone’s surprise, shows up in New York.”

The phenomenal writing in this author’s books is amazing. The words bring the characters to life and tell you their story in a way that you would never expect. The tension adds a bit of spice to these books.

If you want to read more books by Tia Williams then make sure to check out some of their other works. Below we have listed some of their books for you to peruse at your leisure:

Pros

  • Captivating Love Story
  • Funny
  • Well Written Story
  • Witty Humor

Cons

  • Character May Be a Little Flat

Themes: Love, Sensual, Drama, Tragedy

Jewel E. Ann

Holding You (Holding You Series Book 1)

Colleen Hoover is well known for her romance books but Jewel E. Ann is certainly a wonderful author for this genre as well. In particular, her book called Fortuity is similar in its themes and characters.

Excerpt from Fortuity: 

“Her heart is even more shattered with the loss of her brother and his wife, leaving her as the guardian to her ten-year-old nephew, Gabe.

Moving into a house on the beach in San Diego, she meets her neighbor, single dad, Nathaniel who’s had his own heart broken more than once.”

The books by Jewel E. Ann are guaranteed to become one of your favorites. The difficult topics she covers with such grace and lightness really makes this book something special.

The back stories and journeys the characters go through really make this story second to none. 

If you want to read more books by Jewel E. Ann then make sure to check out some of their other works. Below we have listed some of their books for you to dive into:

Pros

  • Powerful Storytelling
  • Funny
  • Great Characters

Cons

  • May Contain Explicit Content

Themes: Sacrifice, Love, Sensuality

Samantha Young

Things We Never Said: Hart's Boardwalk Book 3

If you need another amazing author that has published books similar to Colleen Hoover then you should consider checking out Samantha Young’s work.

In particular, her book called As Dust Dances is a wonderful book that is similar to Colleen Hoover’s style of writing. 

Excerpt from As Dust Dances: 

“Who would guess that Skylar Finch, the lead singer of a hugely successful American pop-rock band, would be living off the grid in a cemetery in Glasgow.

The pressures of fame drove her to busking on the streets to make ends meet while trying to keep her identity hidden.”

This author brings the struggles we humans encounter to light. The words she uses spin a pretty picture and make the whole book series quite interesting to follow.

You will love all the characters, and enjoy watching their life stories unfold.

If you want to read more books by Samantha Young, then make sure to check out some of their other works. Below we have listed some of their books for you to find joy in:

Pros

  • Fantastic Characters
  • Great Writing
  • Amazing Story

Cons

  • The Story Is A Bit Predictable

Themes: Romance, Drama, Sensuality

Ella Maise

To Love Jason Thorn

You are bound to enjoy each and every one of Ella Maise’s books. They are well-thought out, have great characters and are certainly similar to Colleen Hoover’s work.

In particular, a book called Marriage for One is a phenomenal book that you are going to love. 

Excerpt from Marriage for One:

“The first time Rose met Jack, he proposed and she accepted.

She can’t believe she accepted his marriage of convenience business arrangement but she really had no choice.

Now she’s sharing a house with a man she doesn’t know and yet she finds herself falling for him all the same.”

The characters that this author creates bring the whole story to life. You are bound to fall hard for nearly all of them!

It is because of the characters and the clever plot that you will love this beautiful slow-burn style romance novel.

If you want to read more books by Ella Maise then make sure to check out some of their other works. Below we have listed some of their books for you to fall head over heels for:

Pros

  • Easy to Read
  • Great Characters
  • Well Written

Cons

  • Not a Very Exciting Story

Themes: Following Dreams, Relationships, Love

Final Thoughts

We hope that you have enjoyed reading this article and learning about these twenty amazing authors. They all have exceptional books which are similar to the work of Colleen Hoover.

While none of them may take the place of Colleen’s books, they are certainly something that can help you fill the void once you have finished all of her book series. 

So, make sure to check out any of these books. One of these authors and their fantastic books is bound to scratch that itch. With all of that said, we hope that you find a book to suit your tastes.

YouTube video
Noah Burton