Children’s Folklore & Fantasy: The 20 Best Books Like Alice in Wonderland

Step into the wacky and wonderful world of Lewis Carroll’s Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland. From tea parties to the Queen of Hearts’ reign of terror, Alice’s fall down the rabbit hole has become one of the most iconic stories in children’s literature. 

Children's Folklore & Fantasy: The 20 Best Books Like Alice in Wonderland

If you finished Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland and you’re craving more adventure, look no further than these classic children’s stories. We guarantee that these 20 books like Alice in Wonderland will have you grinning like the Cheshire Cat. 

The Wonderful Wizard of Oz by L. Frank Baum

The Wonderful Wizard of Oz (Illustrated First Edition): 100th Anniversary OZ Collection

First stop: the enchanting Land of Oz. Like Alice, farm girl Dorothy finds herself in a land beyond her wildest imaginings after a tornado whisks her and her dog, Toto, from Kansas. With the Tin Woodman, the Cowardly Lion, and the Scarecrow, Dorothy follows the yellow brick road all the way to Oz. Yet all is not as it seems in Oz, and with the Wicked Witch of the West on her trail, Dorothy realizes there’s no place like home. 

You may have watched the movie, but you’ll want to see this classic story’s origins for yourself.

Find a copy here.

Peter Pan by J.M. Barrie

Peter Pan (Peter and Wendy) by J.M. Barrie

Grab your fairy dust—our next destination is Neverland. 

When Peter Pan appears at Wendy Darling’s window, she and her younger brothers follow him to a world of fairies, mermaids, and pirates, including the formidable Captain Hook. Children who aren’t quite ready to grow up will delight in Peter’s antics and find themselves wishing to face off with Captain Hook. 

Join Peter and Wendy on their adventures here.

The Phantom Tollbooth by Norton Juster

The Phantom Tollbooth

After Neverland, voyage to the Island of Conclusions with Milo in The Phantom Tollbooth. 

Boredom inspires Milo to step through the mysterious tollbooth that appears in his room, but monotony becomes only a vague memory once he reaches the Island of Conclusions. From a ticking watchdog to a daring rescue, Milo experiences all the wonders the island has to offer. Yet when he discovers danger within his new paradise, he must find bravery within himself to save it. 

Join the adventure when you pick up your copy here

The Tale of Peter Rabbit by Beatrix Potter

The Tale of Peter Rabbit

Adult and child animal lovers alike will rejoice in Beatrix Potter’s beloved book, The Tale of Peter Rabbit. Like Alice, Peter Rabbit has a nose for trouble, but unlike her, he finds it in Mr. McGregor’s vegetable garden. Readers can follow the tale through a series of stunning illustrations.

Humorous and full of heart, The Tale of Peter Rabbit is a perfect tale for the entire family. 

Find your copy here.

Pippi Longstocking by Astrid Lindgren

Pippi Longstocking

Readers who enjoyed the whimsical nature of Alice in Wonderland should be sure to indulge in Astrid Lindgren’s Pippi Longstocking.

With her wild pigtails, absent parents, and faithful pet monkey, Pippi Longstocking is always searching for her next adventure alongside her unsuspecting neighbor, siblings Tommy and Annika.

Tag along in Pippi’s antics here.

Charlie and the Chocolate Factory by Roald Dahl

Charlie and the Chocolate Factory

For a tale as classic as chocolate itself, turn to Roald Dahl’s Charlie and the Chocolate Factory. When Willy Wonka’s chocolate factory opens, only five children are allowed inside, including protagonist Charlie Bucket. With his golden ticket, Charlie steps from his ordinary life and into Willy Wonka’s whimsical world. To leave the factory victorious, he must stay true to his good nature. 

To join him inside the chocolate factory, find a copy here

A Wrinkle In Time by Madeleine L’Engle

A Wrinkle in Time (Time Quintet)

On a dark and stormy night, a stranger tells Meg Murry of tesseracts: wrinkles in time where anything is possible. Meg’s beloved father disappeared while studying tesseracts, and now, Meg will do anything to bring him home. With the help of her strange brother, Charles Wallace, and the most popular boy in school, Calvin O’Keefe, Meg embarks on a quest that will carry her through space and time.

Discover if Meg finds her father when you pick up a copy here.

The Giver by Lois Lowry

The Giver: A Newbery Award Winner (Giver Quartet, 1)

Twelve-year-old Jonah lives in paradise. 

Every day is the same until Jonah receives his life assignment. As the Receiver of Memory, he must learn the intricacies of his community’s origins. Yet in the shadows of the past, Jonah’s idyllic paradise is not as perfect as it seems.

Impossible and thought-provoking, Lois Lowry’s The Giver is a powerful glimpse into two very different worlds and what those in power will do to keep secrets.

Find your copy here.

Coraline by Neil Gaiman

Coraline

This chilling children’s story has frightened kids and adults alike since its 2002 publication. 

Sharp and spooky, the tale follows Coraline as she passes through a doorway and into another world eerily similar to her own. At first, the other mother and other father enchant Coraline, but as their true intentions come to light, Coraline must save herself from their machinations. 

Grab your copy here.

Inkheart by Cornelia Funke

Inkheart

Queen of Heart fans, rejoice: Cornelia Funke brings another memorable villain to life (quite literally) in Inkheart. 

Meggie lives a quiet life with her bookbinder father, Mo. But when she reads aloud from Inkheart and speaks the duplicitous ruler Capricorn into existence, she must rely upon magic and become the hero of her own story to vanquish him to the land of fiction.

Join Meggie on her journey when you pick up your copy here.

The Neverending Story by Michael Ende

The Neverending Story

Rather than Inkheart’s premise of fiction-to-reality, The Neverending Story sees Bastian leave the real world and enter the magical world of Fantastica when he finds an ancient volume.

Like Wonderland, Fantastica is enchanting and ever-changing, its barriers between imagination and actuality thin. But Fantastica is also in danger, and Bastian alone can save it. 

See if he succeeds here.

The Land of Stories (Series) by Chris Colfer

The Land of Stories Complete Paperback Gift Set

Twins Alex and Connor depart their reality and enter a fantastic world where fairy tales are real—and so is the danger within them. Full of excitement and adventures, fans of Wonderland will be excited to explore this new world. 

With six books and counting, The Land of Stories is perfect for your most voracious readers. 

If you fall in love entirely, you can find the entire series here

The Bad Beginning (A Series of Unfortunate Events) by Lemony Snicket

The Bad Beginning (A Series of Unfortunate Events #1)

It might be a bad beginning for siblings Violet, Klaus, and Sunny Baudelaire, but you’ll be in luck when you pick up the first book in Lemony Snicket’s series, A Series of Unfortunate Events. 

From raging fires to stolen fortunes, the Baudelaire children are exceptionally unlucky. Yet even in their darkest times, Snicket still finds exquisite moments of humor that will keep you laughing and flipping pages. 

Watch it all unfold when you pick up your copy here.

A Blade So Black by L.L. McKinney

A Blade So Black (The Nightmare-Verse, 1)

Teen Alice in Wonderland fans should be sure to check out L.L. McKinney’s A Blade So Black. 

McKinnney’s 2018 Alice in Wonderland retelling takes place in real-world Atlanta—but monstrous creatures creep in from the dream realm of Wonderland. Alice juggles school and monster fighting, but when her mentor is poisoned, she must journey deeper into Wonderland than ever before.

The first in a series, you can find A Blade So Black here.

Heartless by Marissa Meyer

Heartless

Like A Blade So Black, Marissa Meyer’s Heartless is a retelling with a delightfully dark twist, best suited for teens. 

Before she was the terror-inspiring Queen of Hearts, she was simply Catherine. Romantic and far from ruthless, she falls in love with a court joker and is swept away by possibility. Cath is determined to hide the affair, but in Wonderland, mayhem is always right around the corner. 

Discover the Queen of Hearts’ origins here

After Alice by Gregory Maguire

After Alice: A Novel

If Heartless and A Blade So Black intrigue you, you’ll also want to read Gregory Maguire’s After Alice. The story follows Ada, a companion briefly mentioned in the original tale, as she tumbles down the rabbit hole after Alice. Determined to find her friend, Ada ventures through the whimsical Wonderland and confronts the strange and surreal.

Clever and cunning, Gregory Maguire shows us a new side of an old story. 

Pick up a copy here.

The Chronicles of Narnia (Series) by C. S. Lewis

The Magician's Nephew, Collector's Edition (The Chronicles of Narnia)

Embark on a voyage through the wardrobe and into the magical world of Narnia. For decades, this children’s series has captivated readers, and now, it’s your turn. Fans of secondary worlds and classic fantasy won’t want to miss out. 

Find the first of the series, The Magician’s Nephew, here.

A Wizard of Earthsea by Ursula K. Le Guin

A Wizard of Earthsea (The Earthsea Cycle, 1)

Prolific author Ursula K. Le Guin brings us a wizard school that existed long before Hogwarts. 

In A Wizard of Earthsea, the first of Le Guin’s beloved Earthsea cycle, readers meet the reckless and power-hungry Ged. In his quest for knowledge, Ged accidentally unleashes a terrible darkness upon the world. Containing it takes him everywhere from dragon lairs to death’s threshold, and you won’t want to miss this magical adventure

Find a copy here.

Kingdom Keepers (Series) by Ridley Pearson

Kingdom Keepers: Disney After Dark

If you’ve ever dreamt of what happens behind the scenes at theme parks, Kingdom Keepers is for you.

After dark, five teens find themselves in a thrilling fight against classic Disney villains. At first, they cannot tell dreams from reality, but a seasoned Imagineer breaks sobering news: the park is in danger, and Maleficent is leading the attempt to take it down. 

Take a glimpse behind Magic Kingdom’s gates when you pick up the first book in the series here

The Magic Treehouse (Series) by Mary Pope Osborne

Dinosaurs Before Dark (Magic Tree House, No. 1)

Have you dreamt of traveling through time and space? Then you won’t want to miss Mary Pope Osborne’s sprawling children’s series, The Magic Treehouse.

At Morgana’s request, siblings Jack and Annie voyage across centuries in their magic treehouse on various missions. From the time of dinosaurs to the sinking of the Titanic, they encounter adventure and danger at every turn. Children with wide imaginations and an itch to see the world will devour these stories. 

Check out the first in the series, Dinosaurs Before Dark, here

Down the Rabbit Hole

With these 20 books, your fall down the rabbit hole can continue forever, if you so choose. Just remember—when you return to the real world, take care not to bring back any villains or foes.

Happy reading! 

FAQ

What age group is Alice in Wonderland for?

While readers of any age can enjoy the story, it is ideally suited for children ages 9-14 (or grades 3-8)

What reading level is Alice in Wonderland?

Alice in Wonderland has a seventh-grade reading level.

Is Alice in Wonderland appropriate for elementary students?

Younger readers may find some of the scenes frightening, so it might be best to read the novel with a parent or older sibling!

Is Alice in Wonderland a book for adults?

Adults will enjoy Alice in Wonderland—remember, there’s no age limit on whimsy.

YouTube video
Morgan Spraker