New Adult Romance: 20 Must-Read Books Like Heart Bones

When you read a Colleen Hoover novel, you know you are in for an intense, emotional ride that will tug at your heartstrings. Her romance books stay with you long after you’re done reading, and the only regret you may have is finishing the final chapter. 

New Adult Romance: 20 Must-Read Books Like Heart Bones

Her new adult romance book Heart Bones is no exception. Full of the brutally honest look at life and memorable characters typical of a Colleen Hoover book, Heart Bones will leave you emotionally gutted, slightly whiplashed from the emotional twist of an ending…and hungry for more.

If you finished Heart Bones and long for something similar, we’ve got you covered. Here are 20 of the best new adult romance books like Heart Bones by Colleen Hoover

The 20 Best New Adult Romance Books Like Heart Bones

Beautiful Disaster (Beautiful #1) by Jamie McGuire 

Beautiful Disaster: A Novel (Beautiful Disaster Series)

New York Times Bestselling author Jamie McGuire brings you this intense, sexy story of opposites attract. Fans of Heart Bones will treasure the sweet romance and get caught up in the palpable angst between good girl Abby Abernathy (who’s trying to escape her troubling past) and bad boy Travis Maddox (who wonders how Abby can resist his charm). Will these unlikely lovers turn out to be a match made in heaven, or will their differences and Abby’s past keep them apart? 

Find out by picking up your copy today. 

Mouth to Mouth by Tessa Bailey

Mouth to Mouth (Beach Kingdom Book 1)

Another unlikely match awaits you in this whirlwind romance book from New York Times Best-Seller Tessa Bailey. Rory Prince has a prison record and a penchant for saving naive college freshman Olive Cunningham’s life. Despite their instant infatuation with one another, Rory keeps his distance, convinced he needs to stay far away from Olivia for her own good. Readers will love the intensity between these two love-resistant characters and the chemistry that draws them together. 

Mouth to Mouth is available to purchase here

Where She Went by Gayle Forman

Where She Went

Although it’s the follow-up to If I Stay, Where She Went is a lyrical, passionate romance book you don’t want to miss. The story picks up three years after the shattering accident and the end of Mia and Adam. Adam gets stuck in New York alone…where Mia happens to be studying at Julliard. As the two explore the city together, they can’t help but explore their pasts, rekindling long-forgotten feelings. Heart Bones readers won’t be able to resist finding out if Mia and Adam can make it work again. 

One of the best romance books, Where She Went was the winner of the Goodreads Best Young Adult Fiction in 2011. Buy your copy here

Good Girl Complex (Avalon Bay #1) by Elle Kennedy

Good Girl Complex (Avalon Bay, 1)

Written by New Times, USA Today and Wall Street Journal best-selling author Elle Kennedy, Good Girl Complex is a new adult romance book sure to leave you wanting more. 

Under the order of her parents, 20-year-old people-pleaser Mac Cabot moves to Avalon Bay to earn her college degree. After meeting the local bad boy Cooper Hartley, their budding friendship throws her orderly plans for a loop. Cooper realizes Mac isn’t like the rest of the rich college kids that invade his hometown every year and starts to fall hard for her, but the secret he’s hiding could ruin everything. 

This page-turner of a romance book is one Heart Bones fans won’t be able to put down. You can scoop up a copy for yourself here

I’ll Meet You There by Heather Demetrios

I'll Meet You There

This sweet, heartwarming tale is a must for fans of Colleen Hoover’s Heart Bones. Skyler Evans and Josh Mitchell are residents of Creek View, a small town with not-so-bright prospects. With limited options for escaping, Skyler hopes to attend art school after the summer and Josh enlisted in the Marines. After her mother loses her job and Josh loses a leg in Afghanistan, the two find themselves working together at the Paradise Motel, and much more than friendship may be in store for these two. 

This is a compelling story of humanity and the human spirit, available for purchase here.

The Edge of Never by J. A. Redmerski

The Edge of Never

Get ready for a riveting romance steeped in adventure as you follow Camryn Bennett on a spontaneous journey to find herself. Armed with little more than a few belongings and a cell phone, Camryn boards a Greyhound bus and is all alone…until Andrew Parrish shows up. While life with Andrew is proving to be an adventure, his dark secret might ruin everything. The Edge of Never will keep Heart Bones fans on the edge of their seat. 

Grab your copy here

The Coincidence of Callie & Kayden by Jessica Sorenson

The Coincidence of Callie & Kayden

Have your tissues ready for the beautiful anguish that awaits you in this new adult romance story. Kayden and Callie both suffered in their past, and fate brought them together one night when Callie saved Kayden’s life. Years later, they find themselves at the same college, and Kayden realizes it’s his turn to return the favor. Packed with raw emotion, this unforgettable romance is perfect for any fan of Heart Bones. 

Buy your copy here

Famous Last Words by C. W. Farnsworth

Famous Last Words

The will-they-won’t-they angst of this enemies-to-lovers romance is sure to please Heart Bones fans. Meet Holt University seniors Harlow Hayes and Conor Hart. Harlow dreams of becoming a marine biologist and Conor wants to be drafted by the NHL. Plenty of girls fall for Conor’s charm, but Harlow knows a secret, a secret that will keep her resolute in never falling for Conor…maybe.

See if Harlow and Conor are meant to be – score your copy here

Wait for You (Wait for You #1) by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Wait for You: A Novel (Wait for You Series, 1)

Heart Bones fans will swoon from page one for the sweet, sexy story of the romance between Avery Morgansten and Cameron Hamilton. Avery knows getting involved with Cameron is dangerous, she knows she needs to stay away…but she just can’t. Will her newfound life and love be threatened by a devastating moment in Avery’s past?

Grab this new adult romance here

Hello, Goodbye, and Everything in Between by Jennifer E. Smith

Hello, Goodbye, and Everything in Between

With college on the horizon, sweethearts Claire and Aiden have to decide if they should break up or stay together. This beautiful, bittersweet story follows them in their last twelve hours together as they reminisce and make a decision. Heart Bones readers will appreciate the honest, refreshing love story of this new adult  romance. 

Snag a copy here

Playing With Fire by L.G. Shen

Playing with Fire

Amazon Kindle, USA Today, Washington Post and Wall Street Journal best-selling author L.G. Shen knocks it out of the park for fans of Heart Bones in this sexy new adult romance tale of small-town girl meets troublesome bad-boy. Despite being polar opposites, the chemistry between Grace Shaw and West St. Claire is undeniable. Grace soon finds herself falling in love and hoping she doesn’t get burned as things heat up. 

You can purchase a copy of Playing with Fire here

Purple Hearts by Tess Wakefield

Purple Hearts: A Novel

Fans of Heart Bones looking for the next new adult romance that will pull on their heartstrings, look no more. Witness a marriage of convenience between soldier Luke Morrow and struggling songwriter Cassie Salazar. Cassie needs the medical insurance perks of a husband for her ever-growing pile of medical bills, and Luke agrees to help her out…only Cassie doesn’t know he’s hiding his own reasons for entering the marriage. Will this marriage stay fake or become a real one somewhere along the way?

Find out by buying your copy here

Easy (Contours of the Heart #1) by Tammara Webber

Easy (Contours of the Heart)

While trying to get back on track in her classes after being dumped, Jacqueline is attacked by her ex’s frat friend, but a mysterious stranger saves her. Through a series of encounters, the stranger, Lucas, comes back into her life, and mutual attraction is palpable. But will the past he’s desperate to leave behind and the future she’s been working for be their undoing? Fans of Heart Bones, prepare yourselves for an emotional and powerful love story you won’t soon forget. 

Pick up a copy here

A Little Something Different by Sandy Hall

No products found.

What happens when everyone can see two people are meant to be…except the two people who are meant to be? Sandy Hall explores this exact question in her debut novel. Fans of Heart Bones will enjoy seeing the story of Gabe and Lea unfold through the perspective of 14 other characters and keep turning pages to see if Gabe and Lea will finally figure it out. 

Grab a copy today, available here

Rent a Boyfriend by Gloria Chao

Rent a Boyfriend

Finding a boyfriend who pleases your parents might be one of the trickiest parts of any relationship…especially when your parents are pressuring you to marry the rich (but smarmy) bachelor pursuing you. Rent for Your ‘Rents to the rescue! Follow Chloe Wang as she pulls the wool over her parents’ eyes with her rented boyfriend, Drew, the passionate artist just trying to pay the bills. But Chloe soon finds herself falling for Drew, who is nothing like his rented boyfriend persona.  

You can purchase this new adult romance here

We’ll Always Have Summer (Summer #3) by Jenny Han

We'll Always Have Summer (The Summer I Turned Pretty)

Belly has been with Jeremiah for two years, and she’s sure that he is the one. Well, almost sure – especially after she learns of a secret Jeremiah’s hiding that rocks her trust in him to its core. Meanwhile, Conrad still hasn’t gotten over Belly and letting her go, but Belly and Jeremiah are about to make their relationship officially last forever. Fans of Heart Bones must read this stunning conclusion to the Summer trilogy. 

Buy this new adult romance here

Love Story by Jennifer Echols

Love Story

Buckle up Heart Bones readers: Jennifer Echols will have you binge-reading this new adult romance book to the end. Erin Blackwell has every reason to hate her grandmother’s stable hand Hunter Allen (her grandmother did give him all her tuition money and inheritance, after all). Yet Erin finds herself writing her latest creative writing course assignment…with Hunter as the hero. When Hunger joins the class and recognizes himself in the story, he counters Erin’s story with sexy stories of his own that grab the whole class’s attention…including Erin’s. 

This sexy and captivating romance can be purchased here

Spring Tide by Ki Stephens

No products found.

Harper St. James has got a big problem: her seemingly innocent lie about dating a football player so she could get out of her sports internship with the hope of landing one with her crush, Nate, has spurred rumors among the football team. Lucky for her, Luca Reynolds, the football player best described as withdrawn, needs a favor. But their quid pro quo might lead to much more than either bargained for. Heart Bones fans will find the web of lies in this story intriguing and the fake romance charming. 

Be sure to buy your copy, available here

Beautiful Broken Rules (Broken #1) by Kimberly Lauren

Beautiful Broken Rules (Broken, 1)

Emerson Moore has a rule when it comes to the opposite sex: never get too attached. That’s why her frat-hopping lifestyle has gained her quite the reputation around campus. But Emerson is quite happy with her self-induced rules…until Jaxon Riley moves next door. He’s everything Emerson wants in all the usual ways, but he also gets her on a whole other level Emerson’s not used to. Will Emerson finally break her own rule and let Jaxon in?

See what happens in this angsty and addictive new adult romance – buy it here

Slammed (Slammed #1) by Colleen Hoover

Slammed

It would be near-impossible to not include Colleen Hoover on our list of the 20 Best New Adult Romance Books like Heart Bones. While she has several books that could be included, Slammed shares all the reasons that kept you page-turning reading Heart Bones. Meet Layken, an 18-year-old who recently lost her father and became the tower of strength in her family. When 21-year-old slam poet Will Cooper becomes her neighbor, the chemistry between the two is undeniable, but a revelation after their first date could tear them apart forever.  

Buy this heart-wrenching new adult romance book here.

These are just 20 of the best new adult romance books like Colleen Hoover’s Heart Bones. There are so many more to enjoy, and more on the horizon to be published. 

Happy reading!

FAQs

Is there a book after Heart Bones?

Unfortunately, Heart Bones does not have a sequel (yet – we avid fans can dream, can’t we?). Fortunately, there are a plethora of other Colleen Hoover new adult romance books to dive into and a lot of other great authors in the genre sure to satisfy your craving for more Heart Bones. The list above is only 20 of the best titles around.

What age rating are Colleen Hoover books?

Colleen Hoover writes both Young Adult and New Adult romance books, as well as psychological thrillers. While some of her books are appropriate for ages 14+, many should only be read by those over the age of 17. There are even a few rated 21+.

What age should read Heart Bones?

Heart Bones is a new adult romance featuring a nineteen-year-old main character and a twenty-year-old love interest. We recommend this book for ages 18+ due to the mature nature of the story and plot line. 

Why is Colleen Hoover so popular?

It isn’t hard to see why Colleen Hoover is one of the best romance authors. Well-known for her ability to weave together intricate, heart-stopping plots, she manages to simultaneously dive into her character’s innermost emotions, helping readers connect deeply with the story and characters.

Beyond Colleen Hoover’s superb writing, she also engages with her audience regularly on social media, and her funny, self-deprecating posts give glimpses into her daily and professional life that make you want to be her best friend. 

Are any of Colleen Hoover’s books connected?

Most Colleen Hoover books are standalone novels, but she has written a few series of books as well:
Hopeless series
It Ends With Us series
Maybe Someday series
Never Never series (co-authored with Tarryn Fischer)
Slammed series

What is Colleen Hoover’s best selling book?

It Ends With Us is Colleen Hoover’s best selling book (arguably one of the top romance books), managing to rise to the top of the New York Times Best Sellers list years after publication. It was also the winner of the 2016 Goodreads Best Romance award and boasts over two million Goodreads ratings and billions (yes, billions!) of hashtag views on TikTok.

YouTube video
Maile Allen