Books Like The Seven Husbands Of Evelyn Hugo (10 Fantastic Recommendations)

The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo by Taylor Jenkins Reid took the literary marketplace by storm when it was published.

Since then, over a million copies of the novel have been sold, and fans of Reid’s work are looking for more books similar to the popular bestseller.

Books Like The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo

In The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo, reporter Monique Grant is hired to tell the story of Hollywood star, Evelyn Hugo.

However, Monique and the reader soon realize that there is more to Evelyn than meets the eye.

Part historical romance, part mystery thriller, what has made The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo such a success is its thought-provoking themes, which encourage readers to consider their own positions on questions of morality, marriage, the media, and more.

If you are looking for books like The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo, then you’re in luck, because we have 10 fantastic book recommendations to share with you today.

All of our book recommendations touch on similar themes to Evelyn Hugo while providing their own unique perspectives and writing styles.

Read on to discover more books like The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo and add more romantic thrillers to your bookshelf!

If The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo has inspired you to read more romance thrillers, you will also enjoy novels such as The Invisible Life of Addie Larue, The Great Gatsby, City of Girls, It Ends With Us, They Both Die at the End, Love and Other Words, The Paris Apartment, The Confession, and The Sinful Lives of Trophy Wives.

Themes In The Seven Husbands Of Evelyn Hugo

The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo: A Novel

Morality

One of the key themes in The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo is morality, and this ties into many of the other themes explored throughout the novel.

The book asks its readers to ponder on the gray areas of morality in the context of fame, success, and love.

The novel juxtaposes mortality against other qualities, such as ambition, and highlights the incompatibilities.

Additionally, The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo raises the interesting question of when it’s acceptable to lie.

Much of the novel revolves around the idea of maintaining a facade and hiding aspects of oneself.

Power

Power dynamics feature prominently in the narrative of The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo.

Since the novel tells the story of Evelyn’s life as a Hollywood star, there is a lot of discussion about power imbalances in relationships.

As the novel progresses, Evelyn uses other people to get what she wants by leveraging her own success, power, and beauty against them.

However, Evelyn herself is also the victim of the power imbalances that women have faced throughout history, both inside and outside of Hollywood and the media.

Survival

The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo is ultimately a story about survival – not so much in the most literal sense of life and death, but in the sense of having to hide, deceive, and rely on facades to avoid exposure.

Throughout the novel, the survival of many aspects of Evelyn and her life hang in the balance.

The survival of her career and legacy, for example, are threatened, but avoiding that threat comes at the cost of the survival of her own identity.

Books Like The Seven Husbands Of Evelyn Hugo

They Both Die At The End By Adam Silvera

They Both Die at the End (They Both Die at the End Series, 1)

They Both Die at the End is a #1 New York Times bestseller that follows two protagonists: Mateo and Rufus.

When they are informed that they will die by the end of the day, Mateo and Rufus both use the Last Friend app with the goal of making a new friend before they die.

The Young Adult novel details the remarkable adventure these strangers-turned-friends embark on during their final 24 hours.

A central aspect of this novel is the idea of looking back on life from a different perspective, as is the case in Evelyn Hugo.

Pros

  • Interesting and thought-provoking concept
  • The writing is skillful and engaging
  • Very emotional, which helps to keep readers invested

Cons

  • Because the story progresses so quickly, there isn’t much room for in-depth character development

Themes: Life and death, love and loss, grief, joy, time, friendship, relationships

The Invisible Life Of Addie Larue By V.E. Schwab

The Invisible Life of Addie LaRue, Special Edition

In The Invisible Life of Addie Larue, the protagonist (a young woman in the 1700s) chooses to enter into a deal that will allow her to live forever.

However, the deal comes with a curse: everyone she meets will forget her. Everyone, that is, apart from one young man she meets in a bookstore.

When this man remembers her name, Addie LaRue’s invisible life is destined to change forever.

Similar to Evelyn Hugo, this novel explores the unexpected consequences of the difficult life choices we must all make at times.

Pros

  • Poetic and lyrical prose
  • Interesting and well-developed characters
  • Emotional and impactful ending that is worth the wait

Cons

  • Slow pacing for the first two-thirds of the novel

Themes: Survival, life and death, time, memory, choices and consequences, love and romance, art, knowledge

The Confession By Jessie Burton

The Confession

The Confession is Jessie Burton’s third published novel, and it’s perfect for fans of Evelyn Hugo.

In this novel, which begins in the 1980s, Elise Morceau travels with the successful author, Constance Holden, to LA. Like in Evelyn Hugo, the novel switches between time periods.

Years later, Elise’s daughter identifies Constance as the last person to see her mother before her disappearance and goes looking for answers.

Pros

  • Powerful commentary on motherhood and identity
  • Suspenseful and intriguing plot
  • Fleshed-out, realistic characters

Cons

  • Different from Burton’s other work, which may be disappointing for fans

Themes: Freedom, autonomy, mystery, relationships, choices, motherhood, identity

It Ends With Us By Colleen Hoover

It Ends with Us: A Novel (1)

It Ends With Us is one of many popular romance novels written by Colleen Hoover.

In this novel, business owner Lily meets neurosurgeon Ryle and finds herself in an abusive relationship that mirrors her parents’ own marriage.

Between discovering that she is pregnant and reconnecting with an old flame, Lily must make difficult choices to decide her future, just like Evelyn in Evelyn Hugo.

Pros

  • Important moral and message
  • Fast-paced and easy to read
  • Deals with complex themes

Cons

  • The ending may seem unrealistic to some readers

Themes: Relationships, romance, abuse, trauma, pregnancy, motherhood, choices

The Great Gatsby By F. Scott Fitzgerald

The Great Gatsby: The Original 1925 Edition (F. Scott Fitzgerald Classics)

If you are looking for classic literature similar to Evelyn Hugo, The Great Gatsby should be your next read.

The story takes place in the 1920s and is narrated by Nick, who tells the reader about the star-crossed and ultimately tragic romance between his cousin, Daisy, and his neighbor, the mysterious Jay Gatsby.

Like Evelyn Hugo, this book explores the complex dynamics between ambition, love, and morality.

Pros

  • Short and easy to read
  • Interesting commentary on the concept of the American Dream
  • Moving and emotional

Cons

  • Lack of likable characters

Themes: The American Dream, love, loss, identity, greed, appearances, power, betrayal, loyalty

Love And Other Words By Christina Lauren

Love and Other Words

Love and Other Words follows Macy Sorensen as she reconnects with her first love, forcing both Macy and Elliot to confront painful aspects of their pasts and divulges secrets held for decades for a chance at love.

The novel moves between past and present, gradually piecing together the bigger picture of Macy and Elliot’s relationship, similar to the narration of Evelyn Hugo.

Pros

  • Handles time period switches well
  • The writing style is easy to digest
  • Early chapters create a suspenseful build-up

Cons

  • The pacing slows down a lot in some places

Themes: Love and loss, grief, past and future, second chances, heartbreak, choices

Meet Me In Monaco By Hazel Gaynor And Heather Webb

Meet Me in Monaco: A Novel of Grace Kelly's Royal Wedding

Meet Me In Monaco is set in the 1950s and, like Evelyn Hugo, explores the difficult reality of stardom and media exposure.

When Grace Kelly seeks shelter in Sophie Duval’s perfume boutique to escape the press, a friendship is born.

Years later, when the same photographer is assigned to cover Kelly’s wedding, all parties involved must make life-changing choices.

Pros

  • Believable romance plot
  • Provides factual, historical insight
  • Immersive setting descriptions

Cons

  • Fairly predictable ending

Themes: Love, friendship, career, marriage, autonomy, media

The Sinful Lives Of Trophy Wives By Kristin Miller

The Sinful Lives of Trophy Wives: A Novel

If you enjoyed the way that Evelyn Hugo employed mystery, thriller, and romance tropes to deal with questions of power and morality, you’ll love The Sinful Lives of Trophy Wives.

In this thriller, Kristin Miller explores the lives of three wives living in the same exclusive neighborhood: Georgia St. Claire, suspected of having a hand in both of her previous husbands’ deaths; Erin King, who quits her job to keep her husband’s interest; and Brooke Davies, an author whose husband strives to keep her under his control.

As these women’s lives intertwine, twists and turns unfold with shocking consequences.

Pros

  • Fast-paced plot
  • Lots of plot twists to maintain interest
  • The unexpected ending is worth the wait

Cons

  • Some potential plot holes

Themes: Gender roles, rumors, secrets, crime, marriage, autonomy, mystery, morality

City Of Girls By Elizabeth Gilbert

City of Girls: A Novel

City of Girls is a novel set in the 1940s, centering, like Evelyn Hugo, around the concepts of female autonomy and success in an oppressive and hostile world.

Eighty-nine-year-old Vivian Morris tells the story of her time in a Manhattan theater, and how one lapse in judgment altered the course of her career and life forever, ultimately leading her to pursue her own personal power and freedom.

Pros

  • Interesting and likable protagonist
  • Portrays believable character growth
  • Good balance between fun and emotionally deep

Cons

  • The story drags a little toward the end

Themes: Independence, gender roles, career, theater, power, choices, identity

The Paris Apartment By Lucy Foley

The Paris Apartment: A Novel

The Paris Apartment is a thriller and a mystery novel that centers around the character of Jess as she starts her life anew in Paris after leaving her job in England.

Due to her financial situation, she moves into her brother’s apartment, only to discover that he is missing.

This leads her to investigate and question Ben’s neighbors in an effort to uncover the secrets behind her brother’s disappearance.

Pros

  • Early chapters set up mystery and intrigue quickly
  • Suspenseful page-turner
  • Many surprises toward the end

Cons

  • Graphic descriptions that may disturb some readers

Themes: Family, betrayal, loyalty, mystery, identities, secrets, crime

Final Thoughts

Following up a book as good as The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo with an equally- enthralling next read can feel like a challenge, but any of the 10 books recommended here will keep Evelyn Hugo fans entertained for hours.

There is a recommendation on our list for everyone, regardless of which aspect of Evelyn Hugo you enjoyed.

For example, if you enjoyed the shifts between past and present and the historical fiction aspects, City of Girls, Meet Me In Monaco, The Invisible Life of Addie Larue, The Great Gatsby, and The Confession should be on your list of books to read.

On the other hand, if you’re looking for similar themes such as romance, friendship, power, autonomy, morality, and survival in a contemporary context, consider reading The Paris Apartment, The Sinful Lives of Trophy Wives, They Both Die at the End, Love and Other Words, and It Ends With Us.

Although some of these books seem quite different from Evelyn Hugo on the surface, they all ultimately center around the tension between internal identity, autonomy, and external perception – something that will always be relevant, regardless of the time period.

Frequently Asked Questions

What Else Has Taylor Jenkins Reid Written?

In addition to Evelyn Hugo, Taylor Jenkins Reid has written many other books, including: Malibu Rising; After I Do; Evidence of The Affair; Daisy Jones & The Six; Maybe In Another Life; Carrie Soto Is Back; Forever, Interrupted; and Supernova.

What Genre Is The Seven Husbands Of Evelyn Hugo?

Pinpointing the genre of The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo can be confusing because it actually falls into multiple genre categories. It’s a thriller, mystery, romance, and historical fiction novel all at once.

YouTube video
Anna Davis