Authors Like Stephanie Perkins (11+ Book Recommendations)

Are you looking for a new favorite book series? Have you ever read any of Stephanie Perkins’s novels?

Stephanie Perkins is an American YA author whose books have delighted readers all over the world.

Authors Like Stephanie Perkins (11+ Book Recommendations)

Her humorous, yet heartfelt writing style has been captivating readers since 2011 with Anna and the French Kiss.

If you’re looking for more authors to explore similar themes as Perkins, this list has got you covered!

Here are a few authors like Stephanie Perkins that feature funny yet touching themes in their novels.

Stephanie Perkins readers, look out! Because below we have selected some of the most iconic and talented authors that are on the same wavelength as Stephanie. Such as Jenny Han and Kasie West.

Books By Stephanie Perkins

Authors Like Stephanie Perkins

Anna And The French Kiss

Anna and the French Kiss

Anna and the French Kiss follows the story of a girl named Anna, who is an American teenager who moves to Paris for her senior year of high school.

The novel has become a beloved classic among readers, and it has spawned two companion novels. The three books are all connected in some way, as they feature some of the same characters.

However, each book stands alone as its own complete story. While you can read any of them without having read the others first, it’s recommended that you start with Anna and the French Kiss if you want to get the full experience.

This is because it chronologically comes first in terms of events that take place in all three books.

Lola And The Boy Next Door

Lola and the Boy Next Door

The novel Lola and the Boy Next Door is a companion novel to Anna and the French Kiss. It follows the story of Lola Nolan, a young girl who lives with her two dads in San Francisco.

The novel does not directly follow Anna’s story, but some characters do overlap between them. This means that readers can enjoy the book without having read Anna first, although it might be more enjoyable if they have.

Stephanie Perkins was inspired to write this book after she received an email from a fan asking for a sequel to Anna and the French Kiss.

She wanted to create something new that could stand alone, so she decided to write about Lola Nolan instead.

The idea for this book came from her own experiences as well as those of her fans, which she used to craft an exciting and heartfelt story about love, family, and friendship.

My True Love Gave To Me

No products found.

The idea for the anthology My True Love Gave To Me was born out of a conversation between two friends, Myra McEntire and Stephanie.

They were both lamenting the lack of young adult books that revolved around the holidays and traditions associated with them. After discussing it over brunch in Charleston, SC, she couldn’t get the idea out of her head.

She decided to take action and within a month had twelve authors and two publishers on board. With everyone’s hard work and dedication, less than a year later, the anthology was published.

My True Love Gave To Me is an anthology full of stories about love, family, friendship, and all the joys that come with celebrating the holidays.

It’s a collection of stories from some of today’s most beloved authors that will warm your heart no matter what time of year it is.

Whether you’re looking for something to read during the holiday season or just want to escape into a world full of love and joy, this anthology has something for everyone.

Authors Like Stephanie Perkins

Morgan Matson

Amy & Roger's Epic Detour

Morgan Matson is a popular American author of young adult fiction (see also “Authors Like Ally Carter“). She was born on September 19th and has been writing since she was in high school.

Her first novel, Amy & Roger’s Epic Detour, was published in 2010 and has since become a New York Times bestseller. Matson’s books are known for their heartfelt stories about friendship, family, and growing up.

Her website offers readers the chance to get to know her better through interviews, book recommendations, and more (see also “Authors Like Ally Condie“).

She also has an active presence on social media where she interacts with her fans and shares updates about her upcoming projects.

Matson is a member of the Society of Children’s Book Writers and Illustrators (SCBWI) and is represented by the literary agency Curtis Brown Ltd.

Pros

  • Best Seller in New York Times.
  • Interacts with her readers well.
  • Good social media presence.

Cons

Themes: Young Adult Fiction, Friendship And Heartache, Coming Of Age.

Jenny Han

The Summer I Turned Pretty

Jenny Han is an American author of young adult fiction and children’s fiction. She is best known for writing the popular The Summer I Turned Pretty Trilogy, which was adapted into a movie.

Her books have been praised for their honest and heartfelt portrayals of teenage life, as well as their strong female characters.

Han has written several other novels, including To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before, P.S. I Still Love You, and Always and Forever, Lara Jean. She also wrote the Burn for Burn trilogy with Siobhan Vivian, which follows three teenage girls who seek revenge on those who have wronged them.

Han’s books are often set in her home state of North Carolina, where she grew up. Her stories explore themes such as family relationships, friendship, and first love in a way that resonates with readers of all ages.

Pros

  • Popular books with young adults.
  • Strong portrayals of teenage life.
  • Well-written stories with strong female characters.

Cons

  • Doesn’t have the strongest engagement with readers online.

Themes: Coming Of Age, Teenage Romance, Young Adult, Fiction, Feminism.

Kasie West

The Distance Between Us

Kasie West is a popular Goodreads Author who was born in Fresno, California. She has been writing since she was in high school and her first book, The Distance Between Us, was published in 2013.

Her website features information about her books, upcoming releases, and blog posts about her writing journey.

Kasie writes young adult contemporary romance novels (If you like these types of novels, also check out Books Like Never Always Sometimes) that focus on the relationships between characters and their struggles to find themselves.

She has been a member of Goodreads since June 2011 and has written over ten books since then. Kasie West’s books are known for their lightheartedness and humor as well as their heartfelt moments.

Her stories often feature strong female protagonists who are determined to make it through whatever life throws at them. Her characters are relatable and readers can easily connect with them on an emotional level.

Kasie’s writing style is easy to read and enjoyable for all ages. Whether you’re looking for a lighthearted read or something more serious, Kasie West’s books will have something for everyone!

Pros

  • Fantastic characters.
  • Wide range of books.
  • Writes humor well.

Cons

  • Could have a better engagement with fans.

Themes: Young Adult Novels, Contemporary Romance, Fiction.

Rainbow Rowell

Eleanor & Park

Rainbow Rowell is an American author known for her young adult and adult contemporary novels. She was born in Nebraska, United States on February 24, 1973.

Her most popular works include the young adult novel Eleanor & Park (2012) which tells the story of two teenagers who fall in love against all odds. Books like Eleanor & Park are often instant bestsellers and quite popular.

The novel has been praised for its realistic portrayal of teenage life and its honest exploration of issues such as race, class, and family dynamics. Rowell’s other works include Fangirl (2013), Carry On (2015), and Wayward Son (2019).

These novels explore themes such as identity, self-discovery, and coming-of-age. Rowell’s writing style is often described as witty and heartfelt, with characters that are both relatable and endearing.

Her books have been translated into multiple languages and have received numerous awards including the Michael L Printz Award for Excellence in Young Adult Literature for Eleanor & Park.

Rainbow Rowell continues to write stories that captivate readers around the world with her unique voice and compelling characters.

Pros

  • Books have been translated into multiple languages.
  • Captivating stories.
  • Has won awards for their writing.

Cons

  • Some are complex reads.

Themes: Family Dynamics, Young Adult Romance, Fiction, Heartfelt, Coming Of Age.

Final Thoughts

Stephanie Perkins and Kasie West are two popular authors who write young adult contemporary romance novels.

Both authors explore themes such as family relationships, friendship, and first love in a way that resonates with readers of all ages. They both have a lighthearted writing style that is easy to read and enjoyable for all ages.

Rainbow Rowell is another author who writes young adult and adult contemporary novels. Her books explore themes such as identity, self-discovery, and coming-of-age in a witty and heartfelt way.

All three authors have captivated readers around the world with their unique voices and compelling characters.

Frequently Asked Questions

Why Is Stephanie Perkins A Popular Author?

Stephanie Perkins is a popular young adult author known for her romantic novels. Her books often feature teenage protagonists navigating their way through the complexities of love and relationships. Readers of Perkins’ work appreciate her ability to capture the nuances of teenage life, as well as her knack for creating believable characters and settings.

Does Stephanie Perkins Have Any Writing Secrets?

Stephanie Perkins is a well-known author of young adult romance novels, and her favorite midnight snack is nachos. She likes to enjoy them with a generous helping of enchilada sauce for added flavor. Whether she’s writing or editing her stories, Stephanie finds that the perfect snack to keep her going through the night is a plate of nachos.

YouTube video
Anna Davis