20 Best YA Books Like Cinder (Top Fairy Tale Adaptations)

If you’re a fan of Marissa Meyer’s Cinder, you’re probably looking for other great young adult books with similar themes and elements. Cinder is a captivating and thrilling retelling of the classic fairy tale Cinderella, set in a futuristic world where cyborgs and androids are a part of everyday life. But where can you find other YA books that blend fairy tale retellings, science fiction, and romance into a cohesive and exciting story?

20 Best YA Books Like Cinder (Top Fairy Tale Adaptations)

Don’t worry, we’ve got you covered! In this blog post, we’ve compiled a list of the 20 best YA books like Cinder, so you can continue to indulge in your love of futuristic fairy tale adaptations (If you’re looking for a great new YA series to sink your teeth into, check out our favorites right here).

Scarlet by Marissa Meyer

Scarlet

If you loved Cinder, you’ll definitely want to check out the rest of the Lunar Chronicles series. Scarlet is the second book in the series and follows the story of Little Red Riding Hood. It introduces new characters while continuing the journey of Cinder and Prince Kai. Find it here.

Heartless by Marissa Meyer

Heartless

Marissa Meyer has a talent for creating captivating and compelling retellings of classic fairy tales. In Heartless, she tackles the story of the Queen of Hearts from Alice in Wonderland. Fans of Meyer’s writing style and intricate world-building will love this standalone novel. Check it out here

Ash by Malinda Lo

Ash

Ash is a retelling of the classic Cinderella story set in a world of magic and fairies. With stunning prose and a focus on the LGBTQ+ community, this book is a great choice for those looking for a new take on a beloved fairy tale. Available for purchase here

Cinderella Is Dead by Kalynn Bayron

Cinderella Is Dead

Cinderella Is Dead is a retelling of the classic Cinderella story set 200 years after the events of the original tale. In this world, young girls are forced to attend a ball to be chosen as a wife, just like in the story of Cinderella. But the main character, Sophia, has other plans. With a focus on social justice and a diverse cast of characters, this book is perfect for fans of Cinder who want to see classic fairy tales with a modern twist. Find it here.

A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

A Court of Thorns and Roses (A Court of Thorns and Roses, 1)

Sarah J. Maas is known for her captivating writing style and unique worlds. A Court of Thorns and Roses is a retelling of Beauty and the Beast, set in a world of faeries and magic. This book is perfect for fans of Meyer’s blend of fairy tale retellings and science fiction. Pick up a copy here

The Selection by Kiera Cass

The Selection (The Selection, 1)

The Selection is a dystopian romance that follows the journey of America Singer as she competes to win the heart of the prince and become the next queen. This book is perfect for fans of Cinder’s romantic plotline and engaging characters. Scoop it up here

The Iron King by Julie Kagawa

The Iron King

The Iron King is a retelling of A Midsummer Night’s Dream set in a world of faeries and magic. With beautiful prose and intricate world-building, this book is perfect for fans of Cinder’s blend of science fiction and fairy tales. Add it to your bookshelf today.

Spinning Silver by Naomi Novik

Spinning Silver: A Novel

Spinning Silver is a retelling of the classic Rumpelstiltskin story, set in a world of magic and political intrigue. With beautiful prose and complex characters, this book is perfect for fans of Cinder’s blend of romance and science fiction. Get a copy here

Renegades by Marissa Meyer

Renegades (Renegades, 1)

Renegades is a superhero novel that follows the journey of Nova, a girl who seeks revenge against the Renegades, a group of superheroes who failed to save her family. This book is perfect for fans of Cinder’s action-packed plot and unique blend of genres. Find it here

The Hazel Wood by Melissa Albert

Hazel Wood (The Hazel Wood, 1)

The Hazel Wood is a dark and twisted fairy tale that follows the journey of Alice, a girl who must enter the world of her grandmother’s fairy tales to save her mother. This book is perfect for fans of Cinder’s blend of science fiction and classic fairy tales. Buy a copy here

Snow Like Ashes by Sara Raasch

Snow Like Ashes (Snow Like Ashes, 1)

SnowLike Ashes is a high fantasy novel that follows the journey of Meira, a refugee of a kingdom that was destroyed by a powerful enemy. Meira seeks to reclaim her kingdom with the help of a small group of rebels. This book is perfect for fans of Cinder’s focus on strong female protagonists and unique worlds. Pick up a copy here

The Beast’s Heart by Leife Shallcross

The Beast's Heart: A Novel of Beauty and the Beast

The Beast’s Heart is a retelling of Beauty and the Beast from the perspective of the Beast. With stunning prose and a focus on character development, this book is perfect for fans of Cinder’s blend of romance and fairy tale retellings. Find it here

Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo

Shadow and Bone (The Shadow and Bone Trilogy, 1)

Shadow and Bone is a high fantasy novel that follows the journey of Alina, a young girl who discovers she has the power to control light. She becomes embroiled in a dangerous world of magic and politics, and must learn to navigate her newfound power. This book is perfect for fans of Cinder’s blend of science fiction and fantasy. You can buy it here

Enchantment of Ravens by Margaret Rogerson

An Enchantment of Ravens

Enchantment of Ravens is a dark and twisted fairy tale that follows the journey of Isobel, a painter who finds herself whisked away by a powerful faerie prince. This book is perfect for fans of Cinder’s focus on strong female protagonists and unique worlds. Snag a copy here.

Cruel Beauty by Rosamund Hodge

Cruel Beauty

Cruel Beauty is a retelling of Beauty and the Beast that features a strong and independent female protagonist. With a unique twist on the classic story, this book is perfect for fans of Cinder’s blend of romance and fairy tale retellings. Add it to your TBR pile

The Wrath and the Dawn by Renée Ahdieh

The Wrath & the Dawn (The Wrath and the Dawn)

The Wrath and the Dawn is a retelling of One Thousand and One Nights, featuring a young girl who must marry a powerful ruler who takes a new bride each night, only to have her executed at dawn. This book is perfect for fans of Cinder’s focus on strong female protagonists and unique worlds. Get it here today. 

Everless by Sara Holland

Everless

Everless is a high fantasy novel that follows the journey of Jules, a young girl who discovers the dangerous secrets of the world she lives in. With a focus on world-building and complex characters, this book is perfect for fans of Cinder’s blend of science fiction and fantasy. Check it out here.

The Girl of Fire and Thorns by Rae Carson

The Girl of Fire and Thorns

The Girl of Fire and Thorns is a high fantasy novel that follows the journey of Elisa, a princess who is chosen by God to fulfill a dangerous prophecy. With a focus on character development and political intrigue, this book is perfect for fans of Cinder’s unique blend of genres. Click here to purchase! 

The Princess and the Fangirl by Ashley Poston

The Princess and the Fangirl (Once Upon A Con)

The Princess and the Fangirl is a contemporary retelling of The Prince and the Pauper that features a strong focus on fandom and pop culture. This book is perfect for fans of Cinder’s blend of science fiction and romance. Available here

Daughter of the Pirate King by Tricia Levenseller

Daughter of the Pirate King (Daughter of the Pirate King, 1)

Daughter of the Pirate King is a swashbuckling adventure that follows the journey of Alosa, a fierce and independent pirate captain. This book is perfect for fans of Cinder’s focus on strong female protagonists and action-packed plotlines. Get your copy here

In conclusion, if you’re a fan of Marissa Meyer’s Cinder, there are plenty of other young adult books out there that you’re sure to love. From classic fairy tale retellings to high fantasy novels, there’s something for everyone on this list. So, settle in with one of these books and get ready to be swept away into a world of adventure, romance, and magic.

FAQ

Can a 12 year old read Cinder?

Yes, Cinder is generally considered suitable for readers ages 12 and up.

What grade level is the book Cinder?

Cinder is typically considered to be a middle-grade to young adult book, and is usually recommended for readers in grades 6-12.

What is Cinder a retelling of?

Cinder is a retelling of the classic fairy tale Cinderella, but with a unique twist that blends science fiction, romance, and political intrigue.

Is The Lunar Chronicles getting a movie?

As of now, there is no official news of a movie adaptation for The Lunar Chronicles. However, author Marissa Meyer has expressed interest in seeing her work adapted for the big screen.

Who is Winter’s love interest in The Lunar Chronicles?

Winter’s love interest in The Lunar Chronicles is Jacin Clay, a royal guard and childhood friend.

Will The Lunar Chronicles become a show?

As of now, there is no official news of a TV series adaptation for The Lunar Chronicles. However, author Marissa Meyer has expressed interest in seeing her work adapted for television.

YouTube video
Avery Bullock
Latest posts by Avery Bullock (see all)