Eragon Books In Order (Christopher Paolini Series)

Eragon is a series of four fantasy novels written by Christopher Paolini that follows the adventures of its titular hero, Eragon.

Eragon Books In Order (Christopher Paolini Series)

Set in the fictional land of Alagaësia, the books tell the story of Eragon and his dragon, Saphira, as they battle to save the land from an evil king and restore peace and freedom.

The series has been praised for its originality, character development, and epic storylines.

About Eragon

Eragon was eventually adapted into a film by 20th Century Fox in 2006; however, this movie adaptation received overwhelmingly awful reviews from fan groups like YA Fantasy Addicts, who voted it as one of the worst book-to-movie adaptations ever.

To get all caught up on your Eragon knowledge or just to reread your favorite scenes, refer to this list of books by Christopher Paolini in order, so you can start your Inheritance Cycle with Eragon and continue through Brisingr and beyond!

The Inheritance Cycle by Christopher Paolini is a young adult fantasy series that has captivated readers young and old alike.

Eragon Book Series In Order



The 2002 fantasy book Eragon tells the story of a fifteen-year-old farm boy named Eragon who discovers a polished blue stone in the forest.

Little does he know, this seemingly ordinary stone is much more than it appears to be – it’s a dragon egg, and when it hatches, Eragon discovers that he is part of an ancient legacy that has been passed down throughout the ages.

When he suddenly finds himself gifted with an old sword and a loyal dragon companion, Eragon embarks on a dangerous journey full of power, glory, and magic. He soon realizes that his choices could make or break the fate of an entire empire.


  • Great storyline that is captivating for readers of all ages.


  • For some readers, the concept has been overworked multiple times before.


Eldest (Inheritance Cycle, Book 2) (The Inheritance Cycle)

Eragon’s journey to Ellésmera in the fantasy novel Eldest is one of self-discovery and growth. He has just saved a rebel state from King Galbatorix’s mighty forces, and now he must travel to the home of the elves for further training.

Along the way, Eragon will confront new enemies and be forced to question who he can trust. He must also confront his past, as well as become even stronger if he wants to defeat King Galbatorix.

However, his journey isn’t without its challenges. Every step is fraught with peril, betrayal, and chaos that threatens to extinguish hope.


  • The plot is enticing, and the characters have even more depth than in the first book.


  • Some readers have been disappointed with the progression of this story compared to the first book.


Brisingr: Book III (The Inheritance Cycle)

Eragon, a farm boy from the small village of Carvahall, has been given one purpose: to unite and lead a revolution against the tyranny of King Galbatorix and his oppressive reign.

Eragon has been chosen by fate to wield an ancient Sword of Inheritance as he embarks on an epic journey with his dragon, Saphira. Together, they must gather the rebel forces and prepare for a showdown with the king’s powerful armies.

Eragon is presented with many obstacles that test his courage and strength in Brisingr, book three of Christopher Paolini’s Inheritance Cycle. He struggles to come to terms with his newfound power while navigating through treacherous terrain and unknown dangers.


  • The saga continues and is as exciting as ever, and Eragon’s character faces challenges that are exciting for the reader.


  • Some readers have found that they just can’t get into the third book compared to the first two novels.


Inheritance: Book IV (The Inheritance Cycle)

Eragon and Saphira have come a long way since their first meeting in the very first book of the series.

They have overcome hardships and losses on their journey from humble beginnings as a farm boy and blue stone in the forest to an unlikely pair destined to save an entire civilization from Galbatorix’s tyranny.

In Inheritance, their months of training and battle have led them to great victories and hope for the future, but it is now time for the two of them to face their greatest challenge yet: defeating Galbatorix.


  • The final battle has commenced, and the characters yet again have been written to be courageous and loved by readers all around the world.


  • Some readers have committed that the final book hasn’t been edited as well as it could be compared to the first three.

Companion Books

Eragon’s Guide To Alagaesia

Eragon's Guide to Alagaesia (The Inheritance Cycle)

Eragon’s Guide to Alagaesia is an incredible and immersive way to explore the magical world Christopher Paolini created. Eragon’s Guide to Alagaësia takes fans deeper than ever before into the pages of the Inheritance cycle.

Fans won’t be able to get enough of this book’s colorful characters and engaging storylines that have captivated audiences around the world.

With new insights from Eragon himself about his homeland provided on each page, readers will learn something new while they take in every delicious moment within these pages.


  • This complementary text shows avid readers and lovers of the Eragon universe around Alagaesia, offering new insights and secrets from the author of this beloved book series himself.


  • Some more relaxed readers might not appreciate the added lore that this book has to offer.

Final Thoughts

The Eragon books in order are Eragon, Eldest, Brisingr, Inheritance, and the extra Eragon’s Guide to Alagaësia.

While the first two books provide a captivating story full of adventure and suspense, readers will find themselves quickly immersed in the world of Alagaësia with Eragon’s Guide to Alagaësia.

Frequently Asked Questions

What Type Of Books Are The Inheritance Cycle?

The Inheritance Cycle by Christopher Paolini is a four-book fantasy series following teenage farm boy Eragon, and his dragon companion, Saphira.

What Do Readers Need To Know About Christopher Paolini?

Christopher’s success has inspired other aspiring authors to reach for their dreams of writing published works too; showing that with some dedication and hard work, anything is possible!

YouTube video
Noah Burton