Love Every Page: 20 Romance Authors like Taylor Jenkins Reid

We all know that accomplished yet bittersweet feeling of finishing yet another, incredible Taylor Jenkins Reid binge-read, right? If you need more breathtaking romance reads, we’ve got you covered!

Here are 20 of the best authors who are very similar to Taylor Jenkins Reid. From international bestsellers to hidden gems you may not know yet, we hope you enjoy this selection for your TBR list!

Love Every Page: 20 Romance Authors like Taylor Jenkins Reid

Emily Giffin

All We Ever Wanted: A Novel

Emily Giffin is the #1 New York Times Bestselling author who has written 9 bestselling novels, including All We Ever Wanted and Something Borrowed. If you enjoyed Malibu Rising, you will love Emily Giffin’s The Lies That Bind.

The Lies That Bind follows the story of 28-year-old Cecily living in New York in 2001, trying to become a reporter. She shares a spectacular night with Grant, who she meets in a bar, and they can’t stop seeing each other again despite saying it would be a one-time thing. But when Grant goes missing after 9/11, Cecily has to use her reporter skills and find out what happened to the man she was falling for.

Find even more books by Emily Giffin here.

Rebecca Serle

The Edge of Falling

Rebecca Serle is the New York Times Bestselling author of many romance novels including The Edge of Falling, When ou Were Mine, and In Five Years

We know that Taylor Jenkins Reid has some amazing historical fiction novels, but Rebecca Serle’s In Five Years actually takes place in the future. Well, to some extent, anyway. It tells the story of Dannie, who has just accepted a marriage proposal and is on track with her five-year plan.

But when she goes to sleep, Dannie wakes up 5 years later, in 2025, next to a different man. When she finally returns to her life in 2020, she chalks it all up to a dream. But fast forward 4 and ½  years, and Dannie meets the man from her vision. 

This story is similar to Taylor Jenkins Reid’s novels because it reminds you of the power of love, friendship, and loyalty, and it is guaranteed to keep you on your toes until the very end.

You can read more by Rebecca Serle here.

Emily Henry

People We Meet on Vacation

Emily Henry is the #1 New York Times Bestselling author of books like People We Meet on Vacation and Beach Read. If you are looking for romance novels about people with complicated pasts, look no further. 

People We Meet on Vacation is a crowd favorite when it comes to Emily Henry novels. It follows the story of Poppy and Alex, two best friends since college who go on a vacation together every year. Until 2 years ago, when a complicated incident took place and they haven’t spoken since. 

But Poppy doesn’t want to let one small mishap ruin their entire friendship, so she reaches out to Alex in an attempt to rekindle what they had. This book follows their journey together as they take one more vacation, trying to make it right.  

Find all of Emily Henry’s novels here.

Sarah Waters

Tipping the Velvet: A Novel

Sarah Waters writes romantic historical fiction that features queer characters and usually takes place during the Victorian era…if you’re looking for someone like Taylor Jenkins Reid, she’s definitely a good candidate. 

Sarah Waters is best known for her books Tipping the Velvet and Fingersmith, both of which involve lesbian protagonists.

You can find all of Sarah Water’s books here.

Lucy Score

Things We Never Got Over (Knockemout)

Lucy Score is the #1 Amazon Kindle Store Bestseller of romantic comedies and contemporary romance (If you like contemporary romance, check out the works of Authors Like Elle Kennedy). Just like Taylor Jenkins Reid, her books will pull you in and make you swoon.

Things We Never Got Over is her most recent novel, and it starts out with 36-year-old Naomi running away from her wedding. She is going to help her twin, Tina, in Virginia, but finds out that she hasn’t changed at all. 

After Tina steals her car and cash, Naomi is left stranded. When a man named Knox sees all of this happen, he knows he needs to help this woman. Once he’s helped her, he’ll just go back to his peaceful life. At least, that’s what he tells himself.

You can find even more by Lucy Score here.

Candice Carty-Williams

Queenie

Candice Carty-Williams is a newer author whose first book, Queenie, was written in 2019. Since then she’s written 3 other books, People Person being another crowd favorite.

If you like Taylor Jenkins Reid, you will most likely enjoy Candice Carty-Williams just as much. Her stories are about romance, but they also tell the deeper story of the main character and who they want to be.

Find more by Candice Carty-Williams here.

Brigid Pasulka

The Sun and Other Stars: A Novel

Brigid Pasulka has 2 published books and The Sun and Other Stars is her most popular novel. This book is about 22-year-old Etto, who has lost his mother and brother in 1 year. We follow the story of Etto as he tries to navigate life after losing them, all while trying to build his relationships with the people around him.

This book focuses on character relationships and takes place in a beautiful location, which makes it similar to Taylor Jenkins Reid’s novels. Though it isn’t super heavy on the romance, it is definitely worth the read, and you learn a lot about the characters through each page.

You can read more of Brigid Pasulka’s books here.

Denny S. Bryce

Wild Women and the Blues: A Fascinating and Innovative Novel of Historical Fiction

Denny S. Bryce has written two books, and they both take place in historical settings. Wild Women and the Blues was her first novel, with In the Face of the Sun following just a little while later.

If you liked The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo, Wild Women and the Blues by Denny S. Bryce is definitely for you. This novel takes place in both the 1920s and 2015, following two different stories that intertwine. This book features romance, mystery, and even a few twists. 

You can learn more about Denny S. Bryce here.

Celeste Ng

Everything I Never Told You

Celeste Ng is the author of the popular novels Everything I Never Told You and Little Fires Everywhere. These novels take a look at the lives and emotions of many different characters, similar to some of Taylor Jenkins Reid’s novels. 

Little Fires Everywhere is an amazing book. It is told from the perspectives of everyone in a family of 5, and it also brings in a smaller family of 2. We get to learn about people’s secrets, desires, and thoughts, and it’s a really captivating story. It features romance, heartbreak, and loss, and overall it is definitely worth the read.

You can read more by Celeste Ng here.

Sally Hepworth

Mother-In-Law

Sally Hepworth is the author of 15 enchanting novels, 7 of which are New York Times Bestsellers. She is best known for her books The Mother in Law, The Good Sister, and The Younger Wife. 

Most of Sally Hepworth’s books involve romance, mystery, and even betrayal. They are sure to keep you on the edge of your seat, rooting for your favorite characters and hoping that it all turns out well in the end.

Find all of Sally Hepworth’s books here.

Carley Fortune

Every Summer After

Carley Fortune is the author of 2 books, and the #1 New York Times bestselling author of Every Summer After. This book is about a romance between two best friends that ends abruptly. Ever since then, Percy has been trying to live a normal life. But when she gets a call from Sam, she knows she has just one chance to make things right. And she really doesn’t want to mess it up.

You can find more by Carley Fortune here.

Jeneva Rose

The Perfect Marriage: a completely gripping psychological suspense

Jeneva Rose is the USA Today #1 Bestselling author of The Perfect Marriage, The Girl I Was, and One of Us is Dead. These books are thrilling, romantic, and mysterious.

One of Us is Dead is about 4 women living in Buckhead, a town where gossip and manipulation are an everyday occurrence. It’s a story of betrayal, survival, and revenge, where friendships aren’t only complex, but deadly…

You can learn more about Jeneva Rose here.

Josie Silver

One Day in December: A Novel

Josie Silver is the author of 3 books, all of which are centered around passion and romance (see also “Authors Like Cheyenne McCray“). If you love Taylor Jenkins Reid, you won’t be able to resist Silver’s novels.

Her most famous novel, One Day In December, is about love at first sight. When Laurie sees a man on a bus that she thinks could be the one, she loses him and doesn’t see him again for a whole year. But when she is introduced to him at a Christmas party, she recognizes the man immediately. He is now dating her best friend, Sarah.

This story is all about destiny, heartbreak, and friendship, and it really makes you think about the road not taken.

Find all of Josie Silver’s books here.

Colleen Hoover

It Ends With Us

According to Goodreads, Colleen Hoover is the author of a whopping 73 books and is an International and #1 New York Times bestselling author (see also “Authors Like Penny Vincenzi“). She writes many genres including romance, thriller, and women’s fiction. 

If you love Taylor Jenkins Reid, you are sure to enjoy Colleen Hoover’s work. Some of her biggest hits include It Ends With Us, Ugly Love, and November 9. These books all feature forbidden or unexpected love and will grip you in a similar way to any Taylor Jenkins Reid novel. 

You can read more of Colleen Hoover’s books here.

Mia McKenzie

Black Girl Dangerous on Race, Queerness, Class and Gender

Mia McKenzie is a writer and activist who mainly writes about LGBTQ people of color. She has 2 novels, Black Girl Dangerous and Skye Falling.

Skye Falling is her newest novel, and it’s about a woman named Skye. When she was 26, Skye sold her eggs, and now that she is almost 40, a 12-year-old girl has approached Skye saying that she’s her biological child. 

The story follows Skye’s journey as she tries to connect and have a meaningful relationship with the child, all while developing feelings for Faye, the child’s Aunt. 

Learn more about Mia McKenzie here.

Tia Williams

The Accidental Diva

Tia Williams has published 6 novels, her most well-known being The Accidental Diva, The Perfect Find, and Seven Days in June. These books are sure to give you all of the action and romance that you can find in Taylor Jenkins Reid’s books.

Seven days in June is about two writers, Shane and Eva, who run into each other in a bookstore in June. They immediately form a connection, but what people don’t know is that they already shared a crazy week with each other years before. 

Shane broke Eva’s heart, and she just wants her life to return to normal. But before he leaves for good, she does have some questions that she needs to ask him.

Find more books by Tia Williams here.

Kristen Harmel

The Forest of Vanishing Stars: A Novel

Kristen Harmel is a #1 New York Times bestselling author and her books have been translated into more than 30 languages. Her most popular books include The Forest of Vanishing Stars, The Sweetness of Forgetting, and The Paris Daughter. 

All of Harmel’s books will remind you of Taylor Jenkins Reid in some way. Most of them are historical, most of them will make you swoon, and all of them are thrilling and exciting to read. 

You can read more books by Kristen Harmel here.

Claire Lombardo

The Most Fun We Ever Had

Claire Lombardo has just 1 book published, but it’s sure to take you for a ride. The Most Fun We Ever Had takes place in the 1970s (when Marilyn and David met) and 2016 (When Marilyn and David have 4 adult daughters together). 

This novel tells the story of all of the daughters and the parents alike, and we are shown both the good and the ugly of the family’s past. It takes you through all of the hatred and resentment, but it also shows you the joy and love that makes it all worth it. 

Read more by Calire Lombardo here.

Lauren Groff 

Arcadia

Lauren Groff has published many books, some of her most notable including Arcadia, Fates and Furies, and Matrix

Fates and Furies is similar to Taylor Jenkins Reid in the way that it is romantic and somewhat realistic at the same time. While there are special moments in Lotto and Mathilde’s marriage, there are also hard times and things to overcome. What may seem like a perfect marriage on the outside definitely isn’t the case when you dig deeper.

You can find all of Lauren Groff’s novels here.

Abby Jimenez

The Friend Zone

Abby Jimenez is the USA Today bestselling author of The Friend Zone, The Happy Ever After Playlist, and Life’s Too Short. These books all go together in a riveting series that you won’t want to put down. 

The Friend Zone is the first book, and it’s about Kristen, who is planning her best friend’s wedding. When Kristen meets Josh, the best man, she is immediately attracted to him. But when she finds out he wants a big family, she knows it’s better for her to stay away. Still, it’s hard to do that, and she finds herself getting drawn to Josh regardless of her intention to stay away. 

Find more books by Abby Jimenez here.

FAQ’s

What Should I Read After Malibu Rising?

Any author on this list would offer great books to try out after finishing Malibu Rising. If you don’t want to think too hard about which books are similar, we would suggest Emily Giffin’s The Lies That Bind or Emily Henry’s People We Meet on Vacation.

How Many Books Does Taylor Jenkins Reid have?

Taylor Jenkins Reid has 10 published books. Her first one, Forever Interrupted, was written in 2013.

What Genre is Taylor Jenkins Reid?

Taylor Jenkins Reid mainly writes historical fiction novels that usually have Queer characters and romantic aspects.

Who are the bestselling romance book authors of all time?

1. Nicholas Sparks 
2. Danielle Steel 
3. Nora Roberts 
4. Janet Dailey 
5. Johanna Lindsey 
6. Debbie Macomber 
7. Julie Garwood 
8. Susan Mallery 
9. Jude Deveraux  
10. Jodi Picoult  
11. Stephenie Meyer  
12. Lisa Kleypas  
13. Kathleen Woodiwiss  
14. Sandra Brown  
15. Karen Robards  
16. Victoria Holt  
17. Mary Balogh  
18. Linda Lael Miller  
19. Jennifer Crusie     
20. LaVyrle Spencer

What are the most popular romance books to read?

1. Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen
2. The Notebook by Nicholas Sparks
3. Outlander by Diana Gabaldon
4. Gone with the Wind by Margaret Mitchell 
5. Fifty Shades of Grey by E L James 
6. Twilight Saga (series) by Stephanie Meyer 
7. Me Before You by Jojo Moyes 
8. A Walk to Remember by Nicholas Sparks 
9. One Day in December written by Josie Silver  
10. Redeeming Love by Francine Rivers   
11. Eat Pray Love by Elizabeth Gilbert  
12. Catch 22 by Joseph Heller  
13. Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte  
14. It Ends With Us By penned by Colleen Hoover        
15. The Fault In Our Stars written by John Green   
16. Persuasion by Jane Austen 
17. Water for Elephants written bySara Gruen 
18. His Dark Materials Trilogy written byPhilip Pullman 
19. The Time Traveler’s Wife written by Audrey Niffenegger 
20. To Kill A Mockingbird by Harper Lee

the BEST romance books I
Freya Cook